Vista: Booting Problems after uninstalling DD9

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by Thomasoz, Jul 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Thomasoz

    Thomasoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Hi all,

    my Problem is quite strange..

    I accidently installed DD9 on my Vista machine. When I tried to start the application there was an error message (don´t remember what it was). So I decided to uninstall DD9, but it didn´t work with the start menu entry an not with the "uninstall software" dialogue of windows (just the message "uninstallation failed / not completed").

    I finally made it with revo uninstaller. Then I wanted to reboot my pc, but - then the problem came:

    For a quarter second a blue screen appears (to fast to read it) an then a windows message like "booting problem" and if i´d like to repair or boot normally.

    "Normally" does not work and "Repair" does not work because it does not accept my Vista DVD.

    Any suggestions and/or similar problems?

    Please help!

    Thanks,
    t.
     
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2007
  2. mangoman

    mangoman Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Posts:
    66
    I do not think this will work, but it is worth a try...

    Keep pressing F6 while you are booting, this will bypass the Acronis Loader,
    but it doesnt sould like you install OS Selector, just Disk Dir.

    You say Repair wont accept your Vista DVD?
    You should be able to insert the Vista DVD and boot to it for Repair options.
    You may have to enter BIOS and change the boot order so DVD is first Hard drive second.

    MangoMan
     
  3. DJM3

    DJM3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    Thomasoz,

    I had the same unbootable condition, but arrived at it by a different path. After installing True Image WS 9.1, it wouldn't let me make a backup stating I didn't have administrator rights (which wasn't true). I uninstalled it. Got an error message during the uninstall (can't recall what). Then the brief blue screen>reboot any time I tried to boot. The repair option from the Vista install disk fixed it for me. Maybe you can work on that path.
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,481
    Location:
    California
    Thomasoz,

    Disk Director 9 is not Vista compatible so that could be part of the problem. Even when installing DD 10 it works best to select the installation file and "Run as Administrator" as this seems to avoid some problems during the process.

    As mangoman and DJM3 have suggested, try booting from the Vista DVD and doing a repair. Hopefully, it will fix the problem.
     
  5. Thomasoz

    Thomasoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Hi all,

    thanks for your comments on this.

    I tried to repair the startup-process at my machine with the Vista Recovery DVD, but that did not solve the problem. I am still unable to boot!

    The "Repair" Option told me, it could not solve the problem an wanted to send a report to MS. There was no further description of what it could be.

    Then I tried several "things":
    - Opened the console from the Vista DVD and tried to fix the problem with bootrec.exe - no results
    - Used Knoppix Live CD (Live Linux - I do not know if Knoppix is something special here in Germany) an ran testdisk with no results
    - Tried to write a new MBR with testdisk and Linux console with no results
    - Tried "ntfsfix" from the Linux console with no results
    - Tried to recover the whole system - but recovery DVD told me it could not find any recoverable data (although there is a hidden partion on my hdd)

    So nothing changed so far..

    Any further suggestions?
     
  6. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,481
    Location:
    California
  7. Thomasoz

    Thomasoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Thanks for this!

    But..yes, I tried it before. There is no USB Drive plugged in and no other external hardware.

    Instead I managed to get the Bluescreen-Message:

    -----------------
    A problem has been detected and Windows has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer.

    If this is the first time you´ve seen this Stop error screen, restart your computer. If this screen appears again, follow these steps:

    Check for viruses on your computer. Remove any newly installed hard drives or hard drive controllers. Check your hard drive to make sure it is properly configured an terminated.
    Run CHKDSK /F to check for hard drive corruption, and then restart your computer.

    Technical information:

    *** STOP: 0x0000007B (0x81A12BA0, 0xc0000034, 0x00000000, 0x00000000)

    -----------------

    I am pretty sure I got no virus, because the pc is not connected to the net.

    I ran CHKDSK from the DVD console - Windows found no problems. o_O
     
  8. rick299

    rick299 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Posts:
    26
    You might try to install DD 10 and then do an uninstall and see if that helps.
     
  9. Thomasoz

    Thomasoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    How? I am unable to boot into windows.. Any cheats available for this?

    edit:
    I remember, I had a Trial Version of DD10 installed, but it had a seperate entry in the software menu. Maybe my DD9 installation was corrupted before? (e.g. not installed by using "run as administrator" option)
     
  10. rick299

    rick299 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Posts:
    26
    If you have access to another computer then make a boot disk for DD, then maybe you can use it to fix your computer.
     
  11. Thomasoz

    Thomasoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Sorry, I did not really get it..

    Do you mean, I should create a Bootdisk throug DD9 on another machine? Or do you mean I should make the Setup.exe bootable? Or do this with the DD10 Trial-Version? o_O
     
  12. Thomasoz

    Thomasoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    It´s solved!

    I do not really know what went different now, but after running the Memory Test Tool from the Vista DVD (which did not work before) a "new" screen appeared letting me start windows with the "last known good configuration" - now I am in!!!

    My HDD ist partioned quite strange now - but thats something i can fix later. First I am happy to have my machine working again.

    Thank you so much for your help!

    I hope we will never have to work together again ;)
     
  13. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,481
    Location:
    California
    You would have to have the purchased version of DD 10 to create a usable cd. The trial version won't let you apply any changes.

    You can install DD 9 onto another computer (non-Vista) and create a bootable CD. Then use that cd to boot this computer.

    You may end up having to reinstall Vista. DD 9 should never have been installed on it so I don't know what it might have done.
     
  14. Thomasoz

    Thomasoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Be sure I will not be interested in directing my HDD for a long time... :doubt:

    But you are right - I should have been more careful with installing this software to Vista.

    Thanks again!

    (The first thing I will do after purchasing DD10 is creating a Bootdisk)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.