Vista and normal user

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security v3 Beta Forum' started by SpookyET, Jul 18, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SpookyET

    SpookyET Guest

    I don't get it. The Eset Smart Security GUI is almost useless under a normal User in Vista. If you try to do anything with it, you get "failed saving settings". Interactive firewall doesn't allow you to save anything. It's annoying to have to switch to an administrator account. Why doesn't it prompt for UAC to give an admin password? What's the workaround, give write permissions to the Eset dir in program files to my account?
     
  2. SpookyET

    SpookyET Guest

    Workaround:
    1. Kill egui.exe
    2. Create a shortcut to egui.exe
    3. Right click shortcut and run egui.exe as Administrator.

    Result:
    Keeps you sane.

    I wonder how I can tell it to start egui.exe as Administrator by default.
     
  3. Big Apple

    Big Apple Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Posts:
    724
    Disable User Account Control?
     
  4. GhostMan

    GhostMan Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Posts:
    99
    Location:
    Bratislava
    Hi

    right click on program icon - properties - compatibility - mark Run this program as an Administrator.

    Cheers.
     
  5. crummock

    crummock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    198
    Maybe it's a good thing that a 'normal user' can't alter settings in your security software.

    Sounds sensible to me.
     
  6. SpookyET

    SpookyET Guest

    No. UAC is very good security mechanism.

    No, that's not the proper behaviour. If you use Windows Firewall, and it prompts you to add a program to "allow", it then asks for the administrator password. UAC is displayed.
     
  7. crummock

    crummock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    198
    You are right. I didn't read your first post correctly. I would also expect ESS interactive firewall to prompt for an Administrator password (via UAC) when a 'normal user' tries to add a rule.

    My apologies for not reading correctly first time.
     
  8. SpookyET

    SpookyET Guest

    Doing that makes Security Center not detect the antivirus as running. It detects anti-spyware and firewall.
     
  9. GhostMan

    GhostMan Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Posts:
    99
    Location:
    Bratislava
    Security Center show wrong information's many times :). You can test if ESS virus scanner is working with eicar.com test virus, it's harmless. Download it from www.eicar.com. If ESS detect a threat, real time scanner is OK and you can ignore Security Center.

    Also you can try to turn off SC, restart, update AV and turn SC on.

    Regards.
     
  10. SpookyET

    SpookyET Guest

    Yeah, I know it's running. I was just stating that fact.
     
  11. GhostMan

    GhostMan Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Posts:
    99
    Location:
    Bratislava
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.