Vista 64 Restore From Boot Disk & USB External Drive Taking FOREVER

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by NBAustin, Apr 9, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. NBAustin

    NBAustin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Posts:
    22
    Hi,

    Running Vista 64 bit and True Image Home 10 prior to restore. I booted to the Restore CD I made, chose the TIB file from my external USB Drive (I was forced to use safe version, full version locks up), and started the restore.

    EIGHTEEN hours later, it's STILL going with no end in sight.

    What the hell is going on with this? This shouldn't take this long. I could reinstall all my software in 18 hours manually.
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,481
    Location:
    California
    The Safe Mode version accesses the devices through the BIOS and USB devices usually run at USB 1 speeds because of this. If you can copy the TIB file to an internal drive, it's usually much faster to restore.

    For the Full Mode version, have you tried the quiet acpi=off noapic option detailed in Section II of the PLEASE READ BEFORE YOU POST thread?
     
  3. NBAustin

    NBAustin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Posts:
    22
    Hi,

    Thanks for the info. I don't think I can copy the file to the internal drive now because it has erased.

    Am trying the quiet acpi=off noapic option now, and there is no activity on either drive. Chose the tib file, started the restore, and True Image Home 10 just sits and does nothing.
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2009
  4. NBAustin

    NBAustin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Posts:
    22
    I've taken matters into my own hands. I'm installing the OS, copying the tib file to the C: drive, try to restore the backup, and if successful, I'll be removing Acronis TIH from my computer and use Vista Ultimate's backup feature from now on.

    I was sent an offer to upgrade to TIH 2009 recently. I'm happy I didn't do it. I've now wasted 2 days on this and still no restoration, and can't use the computer.

    I won't be buying another Acronis product in the future.
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2009
  5. NBAustin

    NBAustin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Posts:
    22
    Now, I just read threads where not only SATA drives are a problem for TIH 10, but that the Linux environment is a whole other problem, and that TIH 10 wasn't even designed to work with Vista, but advertised to do so. (Which is WHY I bought it).

    This is just p*ss poor. Really bad. I'll be telling people to stay away from Acronis.
     
  6. MrMorse

    MrMorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Germany
    @NBAustin
    How large is your image you want to restore?

    BTW:
    I assume you have new, current hardware.
    You have the newest official Win-OS with 64bit.
    WHY did you buy an OLD (in computer ages) software like "Ti10"??

    It is nearly sure that you get problems:
    - obviously the software is not Vista-ready
    - the Linux environment is very old that it cannot recognise new hardware
     
  7. NBAustin

    NBAustin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Posts:
    22
    I bought TIH 10 when I was running Vista 32 bit.

    Matters not now. As soon as I restore the backup, no more Acronis products for me.
     
  8. NBAustin

    NBAustin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Posts:
    22
    Ok, now I tried downloading TIH 2009 to create a rescue disk and the damn thing won't boot into the GUI to do the restore.

    What utterly CRAPPY software.

    Acronis shouldn't be allowed to sell junk like this.
     
  9. NBAustin

    NBAustin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Posts:
    22
    And now I try to start the restore process through the Windows GUI, and IT won't boot into the restore GUI after reboot. Nothing, no activity...no GUI...black screen.

    What utter garbage this is. I'm sick of screwing around with junk like this to get my data back online. I paid good money for this and it doesn't work.

    I'm HIGHLY ~Snip~ off.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 10, 2009
  10. MrMorse

    MrMorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Germany
    Do you expect any help with this behaviour?

    I can follow your annoyance but not your shouting :rolleyes:

    Either you stay in matter-of-fact or you can leave...

    Frankly, somebody want to help you concerning your problem but not in this way.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.