Virus Updates getting stale...

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by ZiGz, Jul 12, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ZiGz

    ZiGz Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    16
    I have created an Image and am deploying now but these machines will not be logged in and used until September. Will they have problems because the updates will be so far out of date by then?

    You know like som AV software that has incremental updates that if you dont have version A already you cant get version B.

    Am I making any sense?
     
  2. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    From my deduction of the post, you are saying that you have deployed an image to computers that will only be used from September onwards.

    When they start using the computers in September, make sure that they update to the latest virus definitions released at that time. The updates are incremental so file sizes should not be a problem.
     
  3. alglove

    alglove Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    I think ZiGz is more concerned about whether the computers in September will update at all, as opposed to the file sizes of the updates. That is, will he have to go through 5 updates and reboots, just to get the computers up to date? Or will the updates even work at all without an uninstall/reinstall?

    My personal experience has been that NOD32 updates rarely require a reboot. Even updates to program modules are usually made without a reboot. In fact, the last time I remember a reboot was when going from version 2.1 to 2.5. I have found that updates from old versions (several months old) to the current version go without a hitch. That should be pretty similar to your situation.

    Granted, you may have a bit of downloading to do when you fire up those computers in September, but the updates should be pretty smooth, if past experience is anything to go by.
     
  4. covaro

    covaro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Posts:
    149
    Location:
    Abingdon, MD, USA
    Everything should go swimmingly for you, unless v3 comes out by then... but even then NOD v2 should still be supported for a good while after, so it wouldn't be an immediate problem. Haven't had a NOD32 update require a reboot since I installed it back in February.

    -Cov
     
  5. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,513
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    And of course the obvious. The license must not have expired.
     
  6. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Either way, you will not have a issue, NOD32 will update upon first boot to the latest definitions.

    Cheers :D
     
  7. ZiGz

    ZiGz Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    16
    Sorry for not replying earlier, vacation time :)

    Thanks for the answers, my confidence is intact.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.