virus scan Norton anti-virus

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Catmaster, Sep 20, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Catmaster

    Catmaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    1
    Hi to all,
    I have Norten System Works 2003. It is schuled to run every day at 4:00 AM. But it dose not. I have checked task manager and Norten Anti-Virus schedule. And everything is correctly set up. Checked Norten activety log and noticed scan was started and then canceled. I am the only one that has acess to my computer. I have XP home.
    Note: First Forum-First Post. First computer First month.
    Thank you for your help.
     
  2. AMH209

    AMH209 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Posts:
    18
    I ran into a problem with my mother's computer with her liveupdate not working. After doing a lot of digging, the problem was no password. Since she was the only one that used the computer, I didn't setup a password for admin account. Well, the scheduler requires a passworded account to work. So, I added a password and updated the scheduler to include the password and it has worked ever since.

    Hope that helps.
     
  3. enigma

    enigma Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Posts:
    53
    Hi to all,
    I installed NSW 2003, NPF 2003 on Catmasters machine. Ive installed NSW/NPF on several XP OS. Both single user and muitiple user profiles. Home and Pro editions. Never had any trouble with the installitions. This one has me stumped. After installing NSW/NPF on his OS i ran a manual virus scan and it worked fine. The next day i checked the activity log and it ran at 4 AM as scheduled. However since then, as Catmaster explained, it starts and then cancels. I just bought a new machine this week and installed the same software on my XP (home) OS and its running just fine. Maybe i should uninstall and reinstall the software again. Any suggestions will be appreciated.
    Thanks in advance. (im looking into the password suggestion)
     
  4. enigma

    enigma Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Posts:
    53
    Hi to all,
    After making alot of phone calls to those i have installed the above mentioned software i know its not the lack of setting up a password for admin. account.
    Does anyone have any more suggestions?
    Thanks in advance!
     
  5. enigma

    enigma Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Posts:
    53
    Hi to all,
    Is anyone looking into the problem that catmaster has?
    I know that sometimes you all test to see if you can duplicate the problem. Is that whats going on?
    Thank you for your time :)
     
  6. enigma

    enigma Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Posts:
    53
    Hi to all,
    I really need an answer to the above problem.
     
  7. MEGAFREAK

    MEGAFREAK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Posts:
    51
    Norton belongs to the cheapest scan engines on earth,
    forget norton finally!

    Norton is a security danger in my opinion.
     
  8. cfp999

    cfp999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Posts:
    36
    Really, what makes you so sure about that? What do you mean by cheap? Because of weak unpacking og weak detection or something else?
     
  9. AMH209

    AMH209 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Posts:
    18
    My only complaint with Norton is the price. Other than that, I've had very good luck with Norton. Just my two cents.
     
  10. enigma

    enigma Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Posts:
    53
    Hi to AMH209 & MEGAFREAK,
    AMH209: I have checked into Admin. password subject and its not the problem. Many calls and visits. Do you or anyone have another suggestion? This is driving me crazy :) I know there is a solution, but ill be darned if i can figure it out.
    MEGAFREAK: If Norton is so bad, then what do you use? As with AMH209 my only complaint over the past 6 years is the price. Can you back up your statment with some facts? If so lets see them! That is a rather broad statment you know.
    Thanks in advance.
     
  11. AMH209

    AMH209 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Posts:
    18
    I've always had good luck with Norton except the admin password issue. I believe you've said that you have already tried to uninstall and re-install. I'm also guessing that you have ran LiveUpdate. My only other suggestion is to e-mail Norton tech support.

    As far as other AV software, I use Norton on two computers, EZ-anti-virus from CA on one, and AVG on the other. So far they have all kept viruses from getting on their respective machine. The only thing I've noticed is that AVG seems to be just a tad slow on issuing updates, but they are improving. EZ seems to be the least demanding on resources, but it doesn't include the e-mail scanning like Norton and AVG.

    Sorry I can't be more help. :'(
     
  12. enigma

    enigma Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Posts:
    53
    I havent uninstalled/installed it yet. Thats my last resort as it is quit a drive to Catmasters house. He's not puter savy yet, so i wouldnt ask him to do a uninstall/install. He wouldnt know how to tweak it. He has only about 3 weeks under his belt. After NAV/NPF were installed i ran Liveupdate immediatly with no problem. Then set up the schedule and ran a virus scan manually. The next day i checked the log and it ran at the scheduled time. (4AM) Ever since then it starts but cancels. Very strange :rolleyes:
    Ive had NSW/NIS/NPF for 6 years and never a problem. Ive installed the same software on many systems over the years and no problem there either. As i said, its driving me crazy!
    Norton tech is slooooooow. Thats why i had Catmaster start this thread. We did it over the land line. Long distance! In past threads ive gotten a reply very quickly. Only this time it took days. (check dates) I figured the mods were trying to check it out themselves to see if they duplicate the problem.
     
  13. mr.mark

    mr.mark Guest

    some symantec kb articles that may help...

    A scheduled virus scan does not run at the scheduled time
    http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPORT/nav.nsf/8d071816eedd7cac88256c0e005a96e5/7b108ef6a24fb3be88256ae2007e93ed?OpenDocument&prod=Norton%20AntiVirus&ver=2003%20for%20Windows%202000/Me/98/XP&src=&pcode=nav&svy=&csm=no

    A scheduled virus scan does not run under Windows 2000 or XP
    http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPORT/nav.nsf/8d071816eedd7cac88256c0e005a96e5/6e9f91eeecc63fee88256af8001411ec?OpenDocument&prod=Norton%20AntiVirus&ver=2003%20for%20Windows%202000/Me/98/XP&src=&pcode=nav&svy=&csm=no

    Norton AntiVirus scanner stops before reaching 100 percent complete
    http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPORT/nav.nsf/8d071816eedd7cac88256c0e005a96e5/3de0ccd9d434a8a98825686a00090071?OpenDocument&prod=Norton%20AntiVirus&ver=2003%20for%20Windows%202000/Me/98/XP&src=&pcode=nav&svy=&csm=no

    good luck & hth

    :)

    mark
     
  14. Primrose

    Primrose Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Posts:
    2,743
    Thanks for poping in Robert Allen Zimmerman ;) Elston Gunnn and I give ya a big karma .
     
  15. mr.mark

    mr.mark Guest

    thanks, man

    come gather round people wherever you roam
    and admit that the symantec knowledgebase has grown...


    hopefully there's something there to help these folks out with their scan probs

    :)

    mark
     
  16. Randy_Bell

    Randy_Bell Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2002
    Posts:
    3,004
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA
    Hi, I was directed to this thread by a link posted to dslreports. Here are some things you can try, from the Symantec Knowledge Base:

    Automatic LiveUpdate and other tasks in the Task Scheduler do not run after you install Norton AntiVirus

    Situation:
    After you install Norton AntiVirus (NAV), you notice that none of the tasks in Microsoft Task Scheduler, including Automatic LiveUpdate, are running as expected. You examined the Scheduled Tasks and notice that all of your tasks, including Symantec NetDetect, show a status of "Could not start." Deleting the task and then re-enabling Automatic LiveUpdate through Norton AntiVirus does not solve the problem.

    Comment:
    I have received private communication from a dslr friend who thinks he may have correctly diagnosed the problem, and this is what he said {slightly revised to apply here}:

    See also the following:

    Automatic LiveUpdate does not update virus definitions, but manual LiveUpdate does

    Situation:
    Automatic LiveUpdate is enabled, and you have been connected to the Internet for a sufficient amount of time, but LiveUpdate has not updated your virus definitions. If you run LiveUpdate manually, then your virus definitions are updated normally.

    and this MSKB article {Microsoft Knowledge Base Article - 310715}:

    Scheduled Tasks Cannot Run with a Blank Password

    Hope that helps, to point you in the right direction toward solving your problem.
     
  17. Primrose

    Primrose Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Posts:
    2,743
    Norton AntiVirus 2003 Gripes


    Automatic Live Update
    September 1, 2003. If you opt for automatic live update when does it run? Once a day? Every other day? Every hour? Must be none of our business because nowhere in the user interface does NAV 2003 tell you the schedule it uses. Neither is there a log of its activity.

    Those of us running firewalls, need to know the name of the program ALU uses to check for new virus definitions and bug fixes. This program needs to be granted access to the Internet. NAV does not say what the program is. I don't use Automatic Live Update, but when I turned it on a bit for a test, ZoneAlarm warned that the Symantec NetDetect program wanted to access the Internet.

    The help does say that for ISDN users it checks every four hours for virus definitions when your computer is connected to the Internet. It does not say how often it checks for bug fixes to NAV itself.

    Checking the Windows 2000 scheduler turned up the fact that NetDetect runs every five minutes!! It is not the program however that checks for updates. The next day, NAV told me that there were pending updates but ZoneAlarm had not asked about NetDetect accessing the Internet. Another computer, running Windows XP Home Edition also had NetDetect running every 5 minutes via the Windows scheduler.

    Symantec has a Knowledge Base article: What is NetDetect? Quoting from the version last modified June 19, 2003: "NetDetect is a Symantec program that checks for an active Internet connection. Automatic LiveUpdate uses it. After NetDetect has found an active Internet connection, it attempts to connect to the LiveUpdate server. If successful in connecting to the server, it checks for available updates."

    The article says that we get to configure a time for Automatic Live Update. This is not true. It also says the five minutes is only used if it can't connect to a Live Update server.

    http://www.computergripes.com/NortonAntiVirus2003.html
     
  18. enigma

    enigma Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Posts:
    53
    Thanks to all who posted today.
    I will call Catmaster first thing in the morning and tell him to check here again. I will help him go through the hot links, over the phone, and will get back to you all and let you know what we find out.
    This is much appreciated, more than you can imagine :) Again thank you!!!!
    enigma
     
  19. mr.mark

    mr.mark Guest

    Primrose is the guy who went out beating the bushes in your behalf, drumming up volunteers to come try to assist... :)
     
  20. Primrose

    Primrose Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Posts:
    2,743
    I do not know all the ins and outs of Norton2003 but i would also have Catmaster install and run Hijackthis. Not to see if he has spyware..but rather to make sure he has all these entries for Norton...******************************************

    HijackThis.EXE
    Detected: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    Detected: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)
    * Using default options



    Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

    Norton AntiVirus - Scan my computer.job
    Norton SystemWorks One Button Checkup.job
    Symantec NetDetect.job



    Enumerating Download Program Files:

    [symsupportutil]
    CODEBASE = https://www-secure.symantec.com/techsupp/ac...supportutil.CAB
    OSD = C:\WINDOWS\Downloaded Program Files\OSD4A.OSD



    Symantec AntiVirus scanner]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\Downloaded Program Files\avsniff.dll
    CODEBASE = http://security.symantec.com/SSC/SharedCon...bin/AvSniff.cab


    [Symantec RuFSI Registry Information Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\Downloaded Program Files\rufsi.dll
    CODEBASE = http://security.symantec.com/SSC/SharedCon...n/bin/cabsa.cab

    Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

    NAV Helper - C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll - {BDF3E430-B101-42AD-A544-FADC6B084872}
    (no name) - (no file) - {FDD3B846-8D59-4ffb-8758-209B6AD74ACC}


    Autorun entries from Registry:

    ccRegVfy = "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccRegVfy.exe"
    ccApp = "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe"

    ****************************

    Then also remember.....


    Ndetect

    NDetect.exe

    (Symantec) Symantec NetDetect. NDETECT is part of Norton’s LiveUpdate. It checks whether you have an Internet connection and whether it can communicate with the Symantec website. If it can, it then switches over to LiveUpdate which itself checks for updates to your Norton AntiVirus, PCAnywhere, Internet Security, or Personal Firewall software.

    Recommendation :
    If you see NDETECT in your Task List, it is only because you brought up the Task List at the exact moment that NDETECT was checking for an Internet connection. NDETECT only stays in the Task List very briefly. Also, NDETECT will only run if you have configured LiveUpdate to update your PC automatically, as it is run through Scheduled Tasks.
     
  21. enigma

    enigma Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Posts:
    53
    Hi and thanks to mr.mark, AMH209, randy_bell, and a special thanks to primrose for going out and beating the bushes for the answers that i would have never found.
    I spent over 14 hrs. downloading updates from M$crosoft, NAV/NPF, Installing/updating/running scans for Spyware Blaster, Ad Aware6 Personel, cookiewall and Highjackthis. I was burnt after that. But he is a long time friend and what are friends for? :) He owes me BIG TIME :) :)
    Again, a big thanks to all who helped !
     
  22. mr.mark

    mr.mark Guest

    so are we to believe that all is well now? is the prob fixed, i hope?

    and do you have any idea what made things right, or did you do so many things that it's hard to tell ;)

    yes, you're a good friend to help out as you did. i just do all my updating manually and circumvent a lot of problems (evidently).

    regards

    :)

    mark
     
  23. enigma

    enigma Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Posts:
    53
    Hi mr.mark,
    I was only saying what i had done when Catmaster first got his machine. Sorry for any confusion. Im like you. I perfer to do all my updates manually. Then i know its done and when its done. It just makes me feel better :) Ive been very busy this morning so i havnt contacted Catmaster yet. As soon as i leave here i will call him. By checking the hot links i think i will have to make a trip to his place and and go through the suggestions myself. He will not be able to to follow all the steps himself. Hes had his machine about 3 wks, and hes never been on a machine before. I remember what that was like myself.
    I wouldnt even let him plug in the phone line till i had NPF/NSW loaded. I installed his isp and then went to work.
    Have a good day!
     
  24. mr.mark

    mr.mark Guest

    got it. thanks for the feed back. we'll be waiting to hear how Catmaster fares. best :) mark
     
  25. enigma

    enigma Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Posts:
    53
    Hi to all who got the answers to this problem,
    I have turned this over to a person who is much more familiar with using 'safe mode' to correct a problem in XP. Ive never booted into safe mode with my old 98SE or my recently purchesed XP. I dont want to end up making a mess. Its better to be safe than sorry. However they are on top of this as of this last weekend and im sure they will let you know how it worked out.
    Again i would like to say THANKS to those who beat the bushes getting these answers.

    Enigma
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.