Virtual Machines

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by TerryWood, Mar 17, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TerryWood

TerryWood Registered Member

Hi

I decided to take the plunge and try installing Virtual Box on the following PC

HP Pavilion Intel Core i3 CPU 530 @2.93GHZ (P2) It has Windows 7 64 bit installed on it and I wanted to try Ubuntu 64bit 10.10

Although I am a novice the install and ability to follow web instructions were surprisingly easy.

When I got to the point of locating the Ubuntu iso for the Virtual Box "Storeage" I got an error message something along the lines of "i686 architecture and that I was using the wrong kernel"

I tried VM Ware Player with similar results.

Anyone share a solution/clarification.

Thanks

Terry

2. Meriadoc

Meriadoc Registered Member

3. TerryWood

Hi Meriadoc

Your link is indeed relevant. When I went into bios the hardware virtualization was not active. After activation many other issues have arisen, but small scale.

As an aside, I am not impressed with the ease of these virtualization solutions. Especially, if you consider the Wubi Ubuntu dual boot solution. Yes you cannot quite as easily switch between the two operating systems, BUT the installation of Wubi/Ubuntu is flawless.

Come on virtual machines get your act together.

Terry

4. Meriadoc

Meriadoc Registered Member

Hi Terry,

well, I use a mixture of virtual machines host and guest 32bit, 64bit OS to Enterprise Linux and Hyper-V. Software, hardware system requirement is most important as is good software and drivers in running a productive and optimized machine.

Playing around with vms will reveal the different facets in features and how easy they are to use.

Regards.

5. Sully

Sully Registered Member