Vipre Antivirus

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Kernelwars, Nov 3, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    Vipre was nice when i tried it, but i hated its lack of configurability with popups, it never gave me a choice to set it to always ask with detections or give me the ability to dig deeper into detection settings.
     
  2. NickHSunbelt

    NickHSunbelt Support Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Posts:
    177
    Location:
    Clearwater, Florida
    We should have a beta release of our next software update within the next few weeks. The next software update will focus mostly with resolving specific compatibility issues and improving stability. We'll be including the option to enable our ClearCloud DNS through VIPRE's UI. There will also be some changes put in place to create a foundation for some of the new features which are planned for version 5.0 that will be released later this year.
     
  3. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,024
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Any news on a new system tray icon :blink: :p
     
  4. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    lol, i wuld hope so.
     
  5. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,970
    Will y'all have a CounterSpy beta out along side the Vipre one? Any chance we will see the ability to turn on ClearCloud from inside CounterSpy also?
     
  6. carat

    carat Guest

    It seems like the system tray icon is the most important part of Vipre :D
     
  7. NickHSunbelt

    NickHSunbelt Support Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Posts:
    177
    Location:
    Clearwater, Florida
    I believe a new tray icon is planned to be included with VIPRE 5.0. We'll also be seeing some significant UI changes/improvements in that release.

    I'm not sure if CounterSpy will also include the option to turn on ClearCloud or not. I'll check with our development team or product manager to find this out for you.

    Edit: I've verified the ClearCloud option will only be available in VIPRE. However, you can manually enter the DNS information or use our separate ClearCloud utility with CounterSpy if you'd like.
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2011
  8. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    nobody has said or even implied that so lets not exaggerate... people are just a little tired of such a simple task taking so long, and the excuse of "thers more important things to focus on" doesnt really make sense since the people programming the code of the program arent the same people designing the tray icon and its a pretty simple task so ye. but long as its been confirmed now that its going to be changed in v5 then im satisfied.
     
  9. bigwrench9

    bigwrench9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Posts:
    137
    Thanks Nick...Can't wait to sign up for more testing.Feel like a kid in a candy store about the new icon,too! :D :D :D
     
  10. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,751
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    That's not what I meant but I suppose your not in a position to say.
     
  11. Duradel

    Duradel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Posts:
    363
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I'll start using Vipre again if there's a new system tray icon. The current one for Vipre Antivirus Premium seems abit plain. The GUI of Vipre is awesome though and hopefully the new update will help. It would be good if the system tray icon would also show antivirus/firewall activity with an animation.

    EDIT: Might start using it again soon. Kaspersky 2011 has been having 'application launch errors' recently. Had 2 in one day.

    Nick I was wondering if Vipre is any good at protecting online bank details? There hasn't been many professional comparisons done on the software so its hard to tell if Vipre AV will perform well when its required.
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2011
  12. darthsideous666

    darthsideous666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Posts:
    202
    Location:
    Secret Hideout on Coruscant
    I hope that the new tray icon is not the only reason for a use or not to use choice? Not that I am being critical or anything. I personally would like to see changes to the splash screen prompt and password protection as an addition, however, those alone would not stop me from using the product if I was satisfied with it's detection rate and I felt protected using it (well maybe the password protection would). The functionality of a certain area (i.e. firewall of the premium version) would be a bigger concern of mine. Again, I am not trying to down play your priority, only pointing out that a tray icon alone does not make or break a product of this nature.

     
  13. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    speaking for myself at least i wuldnt not use it JUST because of that, but when i have many alternatives that i feel equally safe with but that dont fail me in the GUI/tray icon department, thers really no reason for me to use this product since it has a very noticeable (however minor) graphical irritant. but i have other more important issues with Vipre which dont seem to be things they plan on changing, at least from wat i can tell.
     
  14. Duradel

    Duradel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Posts:
    363
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I am trying out Vipre AV premium again because of the problem mentioned in my previous post. Its been running great so far and the scans are moderately fast. I've got PrevX for protecting bank details and Sandboxie for casual internet browsing.

    I've got a fairly good computer which doesn't lag when using any IS software. I have never had a virus before (hopefully never will) so honestly the ease of use combined with a good GUI means more to me than any other functionality with IS software packages.
     
  15. ALookingInView

    ALookingInView Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Posts:
    365
    Will try to resist the temptation to test.
    Mostly unrelated: Sunbelt was good to the Premium testers last time around. Most vendors seem to have a very limited number of keys to award.

    Cool.

    I'm a certifiable aesthetics nut case and even to me that sounded a little crazy. Glad to see it didn't hold you back though.
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2011
  16. Duradel

    Duradel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Posts:
    363
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    If Sunbelt could get Vipre tested by AV Comparatives in their upcoming tests it would add more understanding of how effective the product is at detecting and cleaning malware. From the most recent VB RAP results it did demonstrate that Sunbelt is better than most other companies at responding to unknown malware.

    Unless there are more professional reviews done what are people supposed to think?

    Like I said in my previous post though I've started using it again and its been running smoothly. What most users would want before committing to a new product are more complete reviews of the product so that they don't need to rely on You Tube to get an understanding of how effective it is.
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2011
  17. ALookingInView

    ALookingInView Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Posts:
    365
    I agree. I recently posted about VIPRE in the "Sunbelt" thread, "Not sure I know anyone who's able to make an accurate assessment of the products' effectiveness. No way of knowing if that's a good or bad thing".
    A number of us have been wanting to see it tested by AV-C for awhile now. I know I personally don't value the best of the other tests even half as much.
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2011
  18. NickHSunbelt

    NickHSunbelt Support Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Posts:
    177
    Location:
    Clearwater, Florida
    Sorry, I misread your previous question. As you can tell, I've had the beta release on my mind.

    I don't have any new information regarding any specific testing but I do know with the recent acquisition, GFI is considering testing with AV-Comparatives. I can't give any guarantees or time frame but it is being considered.
     
  19. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,024
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Exactly the same reply given by Eugene Olsen, the Consumer Product manager for GFI back in August.


    They have had a a number of years to make a decision on testing and the lack of any positive decision must be down to;

    1. A lack of confidence in the testing procedure - Dr Web and F-Prot pulled out of testing at av-comparatives for this reason.

    2. Not worth the expense (but if internal testing has suggested a good detection rate I would have thought cost was not on the agenda).

    3. Internal testing/unofficial testing over at av-comparatives is not too hot so far.
     
  20. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,472
    Location:
    Hawaii
    In other words, they are (perhaps) avoiding a "not too hot" score on detection effectiveness.
     
  21. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    it sure seems that way...
     
  22. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,970
    It does not seem that way with personal tests I am doing. Vipre/CounterSpy always do very well on my personal sample set. Although my collection is very small.
     
  23. rookieman

    rookieman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    My son has been running the regular version for 11 months with no problems.He is going to install the Premium version after that.He likes it :)
     
  24. Duradel

    Duradel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Posts:
    363
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Not sure if its relevant but when using Internet download manager (IDM) I've noticed a huge computer slow down during the time a download is occurring. The CPU usage seems to spike upwards while downloading which makes it hard to do other things at the same time.

    If there's a solution to fix this I'd appreciate it. In the meanwhile I've uninstalled Vipre and have gone back to using Kaspersky for now.
     
  25. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,472
    Location:
    Hawaii
    My friend Frac uses mosquito repellent. Although he frequently camps & swims in the Florida Everglades, he has never been bitten by a snake.

    Conclusion: Using mosquito repellent wards off snakes. :cool: :) :D o_O
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2011
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.