Very pleased with ESS

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by ghidorah68, Apr 4, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ghidorah68

    ghidorah68 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Posts:
    37
    Location:
    Ohio
    I wanted to say I went from NOD32 to ESS. I've been a long time customer and I'm always very happy with ESET products.

    I, for one, like all the options and tinkering that they allow in the Security Suite. I'm not one for the 'set and forget' programs. I like some control and they have always offered that.

    That's all! All experiences are different from varied users, but I've always been happy.

    Thank you
    Chuck
     
  2. Shankle

    Shankle Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Posts:
    510
    Ditto.....
    I am also very pleased with ESS.
    I am on Vista with one puter and it is running fine for me.
    I wonder if the people having all the problems are following the uninstall instructions
    and doing proper maintenance on their puters Or they are just from the opposition causing
    trouble.
    I am running ESS v3 on XP Pro not ESS v4 on the other puter. Could that be some of the their problem? Trying to run ESS V4 on XP.
     
  3. silverfox55

    silverfox55 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    The Original Washington
    I can assure you I am not from the opposition and my pc's are fully maintained properly.
     
  4. ghidorah68

    ghidorah68 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Posts:
    37
    Location:
    Ohio
    I have ESS 4 on my main everyday/gaming pc. It is a quad core Q9650 with 8 gigs of ram and Vista Ultimate 64. It runs beautifully. Fast, smooth and without a hiccup.

    Take care
    Chuck
     
  5. HealingStargate

    HealingStargate Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    160
    Location:
    USA
    I have been very pleased with ESS V3 and I am waiting to upgrade to V4 and I assure you I am not a part of any opposition group
    I run XP home and have installed V4 several times and have not been able to have internet access.
    I have had to go back to V3.
    I keep my computer very clean and clear to the point of obsession.
    I know some are doing great with V4 and many seem to be having problems and many of those seem to really know computers
    I do hope we can get resolved these issues that some of us are having and we can ALL go on with our computer lives

    KOR-
     
  6. DarrenDavisLeeSome

    DarrenDavisLeeSome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Posts:
    315
    Location:
    Riverside, CA U.S.A
    Good question. I've got ESS 4.0 installed with XP SP3. Haven't had any problems with blocked programs or internet access.

    If it wasn't for the Application popups that keep occuring during the shutdown of Windows then ESS 4.0 would be running perfectly on XP. Been corresponding with ESET Customer Care for about 2 weeks now and we have not been able to figure exactly what is causing the Application popups. All I can say for sure is that it has something to do with the update engine and the shutting down of Windows. For some reason whenever updates are run for ESS 4.0 (manually or Auto-Scheduled) and reboot/shutdown of Windows is initiated there is a triggering of Windows Error Reporting. Basically the popup is refering to not being able to run the Windows Error Reporting popup (so that an error report could be sent to Microsoft) because of the Windows being shutdown. I've tried a couple of different settings in the Advanced Setup: putting the System Updates feature on "No Updates" and unchecking all but Outlook Express for the Email Client Integration. Nothing has worked. Even tried installing the latest v4.0.417.0. Same popups.

    Both ESS v3.0.672.0 and v3.0.688.0 run beautifully on XP SP3. I reckon if I ever get tired of seeing those popups I could always go back to ESS 3.0. But I like ESS 4.0. WHAAAAAA
     
  7. muppetman

    muppetman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Posts:
    18
    I too am a recent ESS customer.

    I'm a bit unhappy with the v4 internet problems, but overall very happy!

    Small, fast and light. Great stuff.
     
  8. GrammatonCleric

    GrammatonCleric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Posts:
    372
    How dare you be pleased with the product.
    Don't you know that product bashing is the newest fad.
    I hope this post was a joke.

    but on the serious note, yes it has some good things, I am glad that the engine got upped, however I still get random 100% spikes and net slowdowns/disconnects. I am running the AV not the ESS, so no firewall from ESET to speak off.
    I am running outpost 2009 wall and I configured it the same way it should be configured when v 3.0 is installed...but unlike 3.0, 4.0 still appears to kill the connection with Outpost. The strange thing is that not all downloads die, just 60% of them (not complete) so the effect is a bit stochastic and difficult to pinpoint.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 6, 2009
  9. nickster_uk

    nickster_uk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Posts:
    190
    I was hugely disappointed with the first final release of ESS v4. It was extremely buggy although some of the new features were nice.

    Things improved slightly with build 417 but I've just uninstalled that and rolled back to 3.0.368 which runs perfectly well for me. My home network devices (mobile phone etc) were being blocked by the firewall although no log entry was created...after rolling back and importing the same rules and confif, it works like a charm. Then there's the countless packet block (IDS) log entries which seem bizarre at best. From what I can make out from browsing other peoples complaints is that the IDS blocks are responsible for their loss of internet. However, my internet remained stable so it begs the question why IDS was logging details about blocking packets from harmless websites??

    Overall I love ESET when compared to other security software I have used but recently, I have started to feel a little conflicted. I even went to the extent of trying out Norton 2009 as I had heard some good reviews!

    Definitely gonna stick with 368 for now...even when a new build of v4 is released, i'm not going to bother until I have read the bugs and issues have been addressed to peoples satisfaction.

    Come on ESET...use the force ;)
     
  10. a3_alin

    a3_alin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Posts:
    59
    Location:
    Romania
    :)) very pleased with ess v4o_O ...:))) It's a joke? :)) I think it is!!! :)) good joke!!! :)))
     
  11. PatG

    PatG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    579
    Location:
    South Alabama
    Just my nickel's worth: Went from NOD32 to ESS when it first became available. Updated EVERY version the day it came out. OS is XP SP3, have never had any kind of problem, internet or otherwise. Running ESET on two machines, desktop and laptop. Both running tip top shape, no hiccups. One very satisfied customer here! :D
     
  12. DarrenDavisLeeSome

    DarrenDavisLeeSome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Posts:
    315
    Location:
    Riverside, CA U.S.A
    Hey PatG,

    I assume you are using ESS 4.0.

    Do you get the Application popup when using the EGUI (Desktop or Toolbar Icon) to check for updates and then rebooting/shutting down? It's usually VERY QUICK. Too quick to be read normally. I was able to capter it with a screen capture movie clip using Windows Media Encoder though.

    Go look in your Event/System logs: Application popup [Application popup: dwwin.exe - DLL Initialization Failed: The application failed to initialize because the windows station is shutting down].

    If you are using ESS 3.0 then you won't get the popup at all.
     
  13. ATC

    ATC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    12
    Location:
    Great white north
    I've never used version 3 of either NOD32 or ESS so I don't have the reference to the previous versions to compare this to but I am using ESS 4 (.314 first and now .417) and I'm very happy with it.

    Not a single problem here, running on old hardware with Vista 32. I tried Norton Internet Security 2009 and Avira Premium 9 and went back to ESS 4. Oh and I don't tinker with it much. Other than the minor change in settings here and there (disabled splash screen and changed append tag messages to scanned email to infected messages only) it's pretty much install and forget for me here. :thumb:
     
  14. FluxGFX

    FluxGFX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Posts:
    667
    Location:
    Ottawa/Canada
    Hey Guys,

    I just switched from ESS 3 to ESS 4 with the latest updates and I'm proud to report that everything is working like a charm. I'm using the x64 version of ESS 4. Very well put.

    Cheers,
    fluxgfx
     
  15. PatG

    PatG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    579
    Location:
    South Alabama
    Yes, using ver 4.0.417, db 3994. Just viewed the event log, no such animal resides here. :) sorry.
     
  16. DarrenDavisLeeSome

    DarrenDavisLeeSome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Posts:
    315
    Location:
    Riverside, CA U.S.A
    Is your system "off the shelf" or a custom build??
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.