Very different look - did I buy a fake programme?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Willybilly, Oct 26, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Willybilly

    Willybilly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Hello,

    I bought Acronis True Image Home 2009 in a big shop in my next town in Germany. The programme seems to work, but looks very different from what is shown in the Acronis tutorial videos. For example the menu in the first line just exists of "Aktionen" and "Extras". Clicking on "Extras" I can reach "Optionen" --> "Aussehen" but I can´t change the look of the programme, just the style of lettering (font).

    It is even impossible to look which build it is. In the corner right above, there is a questionmark which opens "Hilfe" but there is no "Info" which would tell the build.

    Any ideas welcome!

    Cheers
    Willybilly
     
  2. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Could you post a screen shot, and what operating system are you using?

    If you right click on the actual TrueImage.exe file and choose properties and then the Version tab, and from here click on File Version you should see 12.0.0.o_O?

    I'm not sure what build the German version is up to. Another way of checking it, would be to register the purchase on the Acronis website, if it accepts the serial number then you should be OK.

    Colin
     
  3. MrMorse

    MrMorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Germany
    The German last build is: 9615

    @WilliB.
    After starting Ti2009 press ALT-key.
    You get a new menu with the habitual properties.
     
  4. Willybilly

    Willybilly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Thank you very much for quick help!

    With "Alt" there are two additional menu options, "Datei" and "Hilfe". "Hilfe" shows it is build 9.551. Downloading the newest version with my serial number worked. I will install later and probably post again then... ;-)

    My OS is Windows XP Home. I will try to find out how to get a screen shot and how to post it here.

    Cheers
    Willy
     
  5. como

    como Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Posts:
    498
    I understand Acronis has redesigned the GUI to have a Vista look, apparently having to press the alt key is also a Vista thing. Perhaps someone with Vista can confirm.
     
  6. MrMorse

    MrMorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Germany
    That is the first and buggy buggy version.
    Throw it away quickly ;)

    Deinstall old and reinstall new build.

    But the look-and-feel of 9551 and 9615 is the same.
    And in "Extras --> Optionen --> Aussehen" you can only change the fonts.
    That is the state of the German Ti2009.
     
  7. Willybilly

    Willybilly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Hello MrMorse,

    Done.
    Now I have build 9615.

    Yes. No difference to notice.

    Hopefully my screenshot will be visible for you.

    Cheers
    Willy
     

    Attached Files:

  8. MrMorse

    MrMorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Germany
    You have the correct version, no fake.
     
  9. Willybilly

    Willybilly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Ok, thank you.

    And the tutorial videos were made with a newer or older version with quite different menus?

    (unfortunately I wasn´t successful with a screenshot of a tutorial video.

    Cheers
    Willy
     
  10. MrMorse

    MrMorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Germany
    Then give us the link to the video...
     
  11. ipkins

    ipkins Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    according to your screenshot everything is ok , it is not a fake programme.
     
  12. Willybilly

    Willybilly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2008
  13. MrMorse

    MrMorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Germany
    The video shows Ti11.
    Acronis has linked a wrong link :D

    You have Ti2009. Punkt, aus, ende.
     
  14. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    The video tutorials for Acronis True Image Home 2009 will be uploaded soon, the appropriate department is working to create them.

    Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.