(Very Basic) Vista Batch Files

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by philby, Mar 27, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    Hello there

    Just tinkering with making .bat files and would be interested in knowing if I'm doing something wrong here -

    This works:
    echo off
    start /d "C: \Program files\ccleaner (M)" ccleaner

    But this doesn't work:

    echo off
    start /d "C: \Program files\opera 10 preview" opera

    (makes no difference if I kill the spaces between opera-10-preview, or add .exe to opera)

    Grateful for any help - thanks in advance.

    philby
     
  2. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,566
    Why you don't use the following:
    start /d "C: \Program files\opera 10 preview\opera.exe"

    Panagiotis
     
  3. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    start /d "C: \Program files\opera 10 preview\opera.exe"

    This doesn't work either - I just get a quick flash of the command window.

    Plus, the ccleaner .bat works without the .exe extension...

    Thanks for response.

    philby
     
  4. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    philby,

    Try these lines without start....

    Did you mean to put a space after C:
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2009
  5. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    Yes, thank you, that was it - no space after C: and it works.

    Now I don't understand why the ccleaner .bat works with the space after c:

    What's that about? I would have imagined either there must be a space or there must not be.

    Also, is there a way of preventing the command window from flashing up when the bat shortcut is hit (without TP s/w)?

    Thanks again in advance

    philby
     
  6. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Try this...

    The second line has wrapped. There are only 3 lines here. The second line starts with "if" and finishes with "EOF"



    Try this for ccleaner

    You won't see anything lasting more than a second. It's finished.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.