Version 9 workaround

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by davidkistner, Oct 12, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. davidkistner

    davidkistner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Posts:
    36
    I'm one of those who couldn't get TI-9 to work at all. Not on any of my machines. Last night I downloaded TI-8, build 937 and was greatly relieved to find out it worked on machines that wouldn't work with TI-9. It was a long night. I tried version 8 on both Windows and Linux machines and I only had one corrupt image (and a 2nd try on that machine produced a good image). I'm so relieved....this version 9 software had me extremely worried and upset.

    I wanted to thank the moderators of this forum for being patient through all of the anger of TI version-9 people. I can't imagine how unpleasant your job must be right now, and I'm sorry some of my posts were reflective of my worry and anger (I just felt betrayed by Acronis). Keep up the good work.

    I'm going to keep using TI version-8, knowing that eventually version-9 will be just as rock-solid as 8 is now (but it may take a few months to get it ready for prime-time). Thats ok. At least now I know my data is safe.

    I always use new versions of software, both Windows and Linux apps. because I'm always excited about the new functionality. Even with bugs, it's fun.

    But I've learned a valuable lesson from this past Acronis TI-9 experience -- I should never do this with backup software. I need to wait before jumping into a new version.

    I'm going to wait 6 months after new releases come out, before I upgrade in the future. I can live with bugs in most of my software, and that doesn't bother me too much. But buggy backup software is another thing entirely. Just a "lesson learned" from all of this.

    To the Acronis people working out the bugs of version-9, I wish you the best. Thanks for getting it all fixed for us. Acronis IS the best backup software so keep up the good work.

    - David Kistner
     
  2. John Kemp

    John Kemp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Posts:
    11
    I'm waiting six months too! ATI9 was a disaster for me: prevented system rebooting except in safe mode; no uninstal option for Windows Me.
     
  3. noonie

    noonie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Posts:
    299
    HI folks Haven't been here in a while.

    Sorry to hear all your problems with the new release, but I must remind you folks that this happens upon every new release. If you can check the archives of this forum around May/June of 2004 you will see the same mayhem upon the release of ti8. Very heated. Acronis does this every time.
    There has been a lot of new controllers etc and it takes Acronis time to develop.
    A new release brings in needed revenue.
    Hang in there, it will eventually get solved. Ti is a good imager when working.

    BTW, I'm still on v7
     
  4. Freegoo

    Freegoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Posts:
    16
    That's a fine "workaround" for the ones that can roll back their software, but those of us that jumped on directly on the TI9 ship don't have much recourse other than wait - which isn't very pleasant when it's your backup software you're talking about. Someone suggested in another thread that Acronis allow those that are having problems to "downgrade" to version 8 until the problems are all worked out, and I think that's a fine suggestion - but Acronis will never do it. :D

    Oh and you should never apologize for expecting your software to work. Bugs are to be expected for sure, but the state TI9 is in... well I just don't believe anyone should be apologizing to Acronis. :D

    All that said, I'm sure TI9 will get fixed eventually and it's really got some nice features. AND the support staff is definately workingn overtime helping people in these threads, so kudos to them for that. For me using the latest build to do my scheduled backups in Windows and running the first build for my boot CD to recover seems to be an "ok" workaround. Although TI9 still occasionally decides not to do a scheduled backup. o_O
     
  5. noonie

    noonie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Posts:
    299
    If I were you I would keep bugging them about giving you ti8. They already have your money for ti9 so what's the diff. Full price too, probably.
     
  6. tachyon42

    tachyon42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Posts:
    455
    I read a comment by one of the Acronis staff a day or so ago that stated you should email support with details of your TI9 registration and your purchase info then they will provide you with access to download version 8.
    If I can find the thread again i'll post it here.

    OK here it is:
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=580699&postcount=35
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2005
  7. Freegoo

    Freegoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Posts:
    16
    Wow, that's cool. I sent an email to support.

    Thanks for bringing that to my attention.
     
  8. davidkistner

    davidkistner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Posts:
    36
    Just a follow-up to this thread I started a few days ago. Today I downloaded the latest build 2289 and it works great for me now. I have had no problems, so no more workaround is needed :)

    The software REALLY works well for me now.

    Thanks Acronis for everything.
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello davidkistner,

    I am very glad that you have resolved all your problems with the latest build. If you have any questions please feel free to ask us.

    Thank you.
    --
    Irina Shirokova
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.