Veeam endpoint backup free

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by ReverseGear, Jun 27, 2015.

  1. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Froggie. Not exactly sure what you are saying. If a partition is blown up, you might not be able to image it anyway. In the case I cited ShadowProtect let me get the data from a failed situation, but it wouldn't image it, and Shadowprotect does allow imaging from the RE.
     
  2. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,466
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Many blown systems have FileStructure and MetaData in tact... that data usually allows for FULL imaging (and for file recovery via explorer tools)... remember, an IMAGE is of the disk blocks rather than the file blocks. If it's all bad (no useful disk ALLOCATION information), of course, all bets are off except what might be available using in-tact MetaDATA (maybe some Explorer-based file recovery... sounds like your experience).

    But if the BOOT portion of the System is what's blown, this is very recoverable under a standard Windows system (BOOT path reconstruction, REGISTRY hive integration if needed, etc.). Some Recovery Media have BOOT path reconstruction to a degree but not a complete solution.

    I guess I'm just stating that a FULL (crashed) image is much more useful to me when recovering a whacked System than just some DATA files that may be retrievable. Of course, if System configurations are as important to others as they are for much of my work, those clients should be using a different imaging profile that allows for frequent images of that important System. But most of us know that doesn't always happen until the "whack" I describe above occurs to their system... that's when the real education begins :rolleyes:
     
  3. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Ah got you. i was going to try Veeam, but the free one seems almost a non imaging vm solution. The endpoint solution look interesting, but you have to sign up. I don't have a problem with that, but they insist on a business email, so I say good bye
     
  4. manolito

    manolito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Posts:
    407
    No, it is not a non imaging vm solution. It starts with a full image and then performs automatic or manual incrementals.
    You really do not need to provide a business email, a fake 10minutemail email works for downloading (just tried). Here is a direct download link:
    https://www.veeam.com/endpoint-backup-free/prm_download.html?ad=download_email

    If it fails I could upload the latest version for you, let me know...

    Cheers
    manolito
     
  5. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Hi manolito

    Yep that link still wants a sign in. I always like to play with a imaging program so if you can upload it, I'd love a play.

    Thanks,

    Pete
     
  6. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Okay. Got to give it a test. Install took forever, multiple exe files. As bad as Acronis. What a difference between this and Drive Snapshot, which is a 375KB exe that doesn't even need to be installed.

    I then built and tested the Recovery Environment, and that went well. Tested it seemed fine. Had some good tools. Copied over a lot of drivers which seemed a bit strange.

    Configured an image and that was relatively straight forward. Ran an image and the time was with the norm for my system. Then did a restore. Restore time was also with the norm of a regular restore. When was strange and frankly dumb to me is after the restore, it then copied all the drivers back to the system.

    Did a reboot and the system blue screened on one of the drivers. Had to do a macrium restore. For the life of me I don't understand the logic of replacing drivers after doing a full system restore.

    Restoring the macirum image effectively uninstalled Vreeam, and that is the way it's staying.

    Pete
     
  7. treehouse786

    treehouse786 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,411
    Location:
    Lancashire
    interesting to hear
     
  8. Stode

    Stode Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Posts:
    377
    Location:
    Finland
    Thanks Peter for your test report...
    No way I'm gonna try this, almost did...
    That driver copying after image restore just sounds plain crazy.
    I'm gonna stick to what I have (Macrium, AX64)
     
  9. manolito

    manolito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Posts:
    407
    You can't really compare it with Drive Snapshot. Veeam Free Endpoint originates from a full blown enterprise software where a lot of features were disabled. But all the DLLs and helper applications are still there.

    First of all the user has full control which system drivers are included in the recovery media. And I do remember a lot of complaints from other backup software users where the recovery media did not include any specific hardware drivers from the actual system which resulted in no support for USB3 or other specific hardware in the rexcovery media. I believe Veeam should be applauded for identifying hardware drivers which are present on the computer and inserting them into the recovery media.

    The reason it copied over "a lot of drivers" on your machine can only be that a lot of specific drivers were present on your machine. Maybe some of them were not needed or even counterproductive.

    These drivers which were injected into Windows after the restore did all come from your machine at the time you created the recovery media. Of course you can question if it is really wise to inject those drivers after a system restore (because the system backup should include all these drivers), but how in the world can these injected drivers cause a blue screen? They all come from your machine after all...

    Whatever, Veeam seems to be aware of this issue. There is an explicit message on the recovery window telling users to disable the automatic driver injection if the computer does not boot after a restore. This setting cannot be made permanent on the recovery media, so you will have to make this setting for every system restore. But it is there, and it's just a matter of clicking two buttons.

    I tried a few bare metal restores on my Win7 64bit laptop with driver injection enabled, and I did not have any problems. And I assume that for most configurations this driver injection feature will work without problems.


    Cheers
    manolito
     
  10. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Copy drivers to the RE makes sense, almost all the RE builders do this. But for the life of me if you just restore the system, I see no reason for doing this. Can you explain why?
     
  11. manolito

    manolito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Posts:
    407
    I agree, this should not be necessary, and the recovery should default to not inject drivers. Maybe it's something with restoring to dissimilar hardware...

    I browsed the Veeam community forum a little bit, and this problem has obviously been there for some time.
    https://forums.veeam.com/veeam-endpoint-backup-f33/bare-metal-restore-fails-to-boot-t33782.html
    https://forums.veeam.com/veeam-endp...ets-successfully-but-bsod-on-boot-t28788.html

    Disabling driver injection before starting the restore seems to solve it reliably, though.

    Cheers
    manolito
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2016
  12. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Interesting. Same driver. Even though this can be turn off, I consider it a major design flaw that should have been fixed already. When I was testing ShadowProtect, I found a bad flaw on recovery one weekend. Storagecraft confirmed Monday morning, and had it fixed by Sunday afternoon.

    Even though there is a workaround, I would never use this product. To many good ones out there.
     
  13. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,198
    Hello,

    I am trying Veeam Endpoint Backup Free. It seems good...

    Bootable Recovery Media features ---
    Recovery
    Windows Recovery Environment - Microsoft Windows System Image Recovery Environment.
    Tools - CMD, Reset Password, Load Driver, Memory Diagnostic, Startup Repair & Export Logs.

    Official Website
    Free Desktop and Laptop backup - Veeam Endpoint Backup

    User Guide (Good)
    https://www.veeam.com/veeam_endpoint_free_1_5_user_guide_en_pg.pdf

    Here are the screenshots ---

    Anyone use it?
    Please share your experience...

    Thank You

    UPDATE ---

    Windows 10 64 Pro
    C Partition 52GB/100GB Full, Backup saved on D Partition

    Full Backup - completed in app 45 mins.
    Incremental Backup 1,2,3 - completed in app 5-10 mins

    I thought how it handles interrupted backup?
    I started a backup & midway restarted the system.
    After system restart, tray icon showed previous backup was cancelled But backup folder had interrupted/incomplete image. I started a backup And Veeam detected inomplete/bad image, deleted it & continued with the incremental backup...Good Job
     

    Attached Files:

  14. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,198
    Few more screenshots ---
     

    Attached Files:

  15. oliverjia

    oliverjia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,903
    No option for backup in the boot media killed it for me.
     
  16. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,198
    Yeah, otherwise clean & easy GUI And it gives the impression of sturdy & reliable backup software...I liked it...
     
  17. ArchiveX

    ArchiveX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Posts:
    1,464
    Location:
    Land of the Light
    Spot on! ;)
     
  18. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,198
    I am trying restore with recovery disc. It has an option "Inject drivers" selected by default. There are few drivers with status "Online". In the list my WiFi driver shows yellow mark & status shows "Install". I clicked on "Install" & it mentioned installed successfully But still yellow mark & status "Install".

    I have the backup in D partition & trying system recovery.

    Do I have to keep "Inject drivers" enabled or disabled?
    And WiFi driver status "Install" means after recovery WiFi will not work as driver was not installed?
     
  19. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,264
    Location:
    USA
    When you create your recovery media you have an option to install the drivers from the machine that you are using to create your recovery media into the recovery media itself. Sounds like this option was not selected.
     
  20. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Yash. I have no clue. With the excellent imaging programs we deal with here, like Macrium, IFW DS, and AOMEI I just don't see the need to fool with it.

    Sorry

    Pete
     
  21. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,198
    There were 2 recommended options selected by default during recovery creation "network settings" & "hardware drivers" & I kept those options selected & created the recovery.
     
  22. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,198
    Ok, no probs, Thank You for replying & concern.
     
  23. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,198
    Hello,

    With the support & info from "TheRollbackFrog", I performed restore to 15th incremental backup with inject drivers option disabled.
    Restore wizard summary had inject drivers disabled, drivers in the backup or windows default drivers will be on the restored system.

    Restore took app 30 mins & everything fine on the system, chkdsk came fine.

    Thank You

    P.S - By the way, V2 is coming...renamed to Veeam Agent for Windows...lets see what all changes/improvements is coming...currently public beta available...

    https://forums.veeam.com/veeam-agent-for-windows-f33/topic40495.html

     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2017
  24. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,198
    I didn't knew Veeam is one of the respected & reliable solutions in the corporate world. I came across a post on ghacks & came to know about Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE. I tried it & liked it. And I must say I find it excellent & reliable & robust backup software. Its good for backup/restore. It also mention bare metal restore in the recovery media. Clone, etc feature is not there.

    For majority users, I think its good & reliable. For backup/restore, I find it better & reliable than Aomei, Todo, etc.

    I think if cloning, etc is not required, reliable backup/restore is the need, users of Aomei, Todo, etc should give it a try. I think they will be impressed. Simple, robust & reliable solution with no bloats & nonsense.
     
  25. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,198
    Hello,

    Why I say its a smart, robust & reliable solution?

    Its backup is like incremental forever i.e initial full backup & then incremental backup.
    It has an option to keep the backup for number of days set, default set to 14 days (haven't tried it yet i.e dont know after 14 days what it does?)
    It has an option "standalone full backup" (adhoc backup)
    It has an option "backup to another location" (standalone full backup)
    It has file level backup

    Backup chain is very important...a bad image in the backup chain will affect restore operation.

    I tried interrupting the on-going backup by restart/shutdown/hard shutdown system with the following software

    Macrium & Aomei - I tried only restart system And for Macrium, I got Macrium is taking backup...restart anyway or cancel, for Aomei, I got Aomei is taking backup & system will restart when backup is completed...Good Job. I didn't tried shutdown/hard shutdown with Macrium & Aomei.

    EaseUS Todo - I tried restart system And system restarted. After system restart, incomplete image was there in the chain in the backup folder. I started another backup & new incremental backup was created leaving the bad image in the chain...Bad Job. In the GUI, backup details, bad image was not showing up (dont know if restore operation will be affected or not?) I didn't tried shutdown/hard shutdown with Todo.

    FlashBack V2 - I tried only restart system And I got FlashBack is cancelling the backup...Good Job. I didn't tried shutdown/hard shutdown with FlashBack.

    Veeam - I tried restart/shutdown/hard shutdown system And system restarted/shutdown/hard shutdown. After system restart, bad image was there in the chain in the backup folder. I started another backup & new incremental replaced/deleted bad image. I tried restart/shutdown/hard shutdown system interrupting Veeam on-going backup few times at different percentages of on-going backup like 15%, 25%, 50%, 70%, 90%, 99% And everytime bad image was replaced/deleted by next incremental backup...Excellent Job. And finally there were 15 incremental backup.

    Now came the important part...how well did Veeam handled the tests & images?...Outstanding Job.
    I performed restore to 15th incremental backup And restore completed in 30 mins And everything on the system was fine, chkdsk came fine & sfc /scannow came fine.


    Just wanted to share the experience.

    Thank You
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.