VBA32 News

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by n8chavez, Oct 17, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    Mitya, a moderator at the VBA32 forum posted today that a beta version of VBA32 will be released either this week or next week. That's great news for us VBA32 fans. Hopefully resource usage will be reduced. I suspect it will because of the uprising of the VBA32 faithful regarding resource usage. Also, it is rumored that there will be changes to the RTM in future versions.

    Should we now begin to have hope?
     
  2. dan_maran

    dan_maran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1,053
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    I am anxious to see the improvements, hopefully they will be as they say.

    One thing I have noticed is that VBA is now not only using "KAV style" naming convention but also Dr. Web.
    Example: Similarities can be seen scanning Zlob variants.

    This is interesting after the melee in April over Polipos.... o_O
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 17, 2006
  3. dan_maran

    dan_maran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1,053
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    A little more news, apparently yesterday VBA uploaded the translated version of the installation designer to ease deployments.
    It is also useful for people who like one click installs also.

    ftp://open.by/vba/vba32-installtuner-1.0.9-english.zip
     
  4. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    What then is there left to do in this new beta version? As I understand it the beta version will only include changes to the installation procedure. Sadly all our views on resource usage seem to have been ignored. There are going to be no changes to the RTM either in this version. So if all installation tuning can be done with, the appropriately named, installtuner why have a new version?
     
  5. dan_maran

    dan_maran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1,053
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    To me with all the time being taken to put out a new beta, there must be more "features" Mitya is not really know for getting the point across fully. Might be the whole language barrier thing. :)

    Also the install designer is only for initial installs not program modifications
     
  6. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    Fingers crossed then.
     
  7. dan_maran

    dan_maran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1,053
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2006
  8. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    While that is great news, and it does show that VBA32 is improving, I fail to see how this addresses any concerns that were previously mentioned. They seem to be only adding aspects to it that will make it more resource intense; such as the HTTP scanner (which is not needed it you have a good RTM). Right? I am curious what the transition to unicode will do for VBA32.
     
  9. dan_maran

    dan_maran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1,053
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    new version on the update FTP, no installer yet only by updates.

    Memory is still around 50+ MB, but system impact with New/Changed files is negligible.

    Getting ready to scan the C: drive.
     
  10. dan_maran

    dan_maran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1,053
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    49 minutes for 15690 files with maxed out settings, ie. Thorough mode and Excessive heuristics. Not bad.

    Might do a scan at standard settings to see how it compares.

    /EDIT/
    20:02 with default settings, extremely faster than previous builds!
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2006
  11. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    That is good news. It's also a bit suprising; how a company can improve their scanner speed that much. I remember it used to be really slow. Of course it was never as slow as Dr Web, but hardly anything else it. I wonder why the scanner changes weren't mention it any forum? Tricky VBA32 :)

    likuidkewl- I know the resource usage hasn't gone down, and hopefully it hasn't increased. But, with these recent changes, if VBA32 now good enough to use as your only on access scanner?
     
  12. dan_maran

    dan_maran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1,053
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    I have used it as my only OA scanner many a time. Never got infected, unless on purpose. ;)

    It has been a while but I feel "At home" again on my notebook with VBA32 on the defense.
    I don't know why but this AV feels right to me. o_O

    This release seems to be quite stable so a install as On access IMO is a safe bet.
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2006
  13. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    I know what you mean. Conventional logic says this should not be a main AV, at least not yet. It has not been doing to well in tests, and is still missing rather imoprtant features; such as a scheduer, and adequate RTM scanning, and it's resource usage is way too high. But I find myself searching for a reason, any reason to use VBA32. Why I don't know.
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2006
  14. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Yes, the new scanner is a lot better; about 25% faster on this computer. This is a big improvement and there is now also a desktop icon for the Scanner :cool:

    RTM taking up about 42 MB memory but very lightweight as usual.

    VirusBlokAda are slowly improving their AV.
     
  15. dan_maran

    dan_maran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1,053
    Location:
    Stamford, CT

    Hmm I don't see one, What is the path in the shortcut BC?
     
  16. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    I am on another computer now, but when I installed the new version, 2 icons appeared on my desktop; one for the Loader and one for the Scanner. Clicked on the latter and the scanner main Window came up.

    There you go.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 25, 2006
  17. dan_maran

    dan_maran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1,053
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    Did you install 3.11.1 first?
     
  18. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Yes, 3.11.1 and then updated.
     

    Attached Files:

  19. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    Accrording to the VBA32 forum the beta has not yet been released. But it will be in a matter of hours. Is that correct?
     
  20. dan_maran

    dan_maran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1,053
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    Wierd, when you get a chance BC could you post the shortcut from the properties menu?

    N8, it has been on the beta update servers since last night.
     
  21. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    It's already there. Look in the above screenshot.

    BTW. Congrats on 500!!!
     
  22. dan_maran

    dan_maran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1,053
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    Oh haha he edited his post. Missed that one!

    Thanks :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.