Validation Fails

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by peternm22, Jun 24, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. peternm22

    peternm22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Posts:
    10
    Hello Everyone,

    I'm on the 15 day trial or True Image and I am having some difficulties. I'm attempting to backup my main hard drive to a USB thumb drive. The backup goes alright, but when I try to validate I get this:

    Also, when the error pops up, the USB thumb drive disappears from My Computer, and then reappears a few moments later.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks.

    -Peter
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Are you trying to do the validation from TI in Windows or TI from the CD?

    Did you do the backup from TI in Windows or TI from the CD?

    If you're doing either from Windows, have you tried doing it from the TI CD?

    What format is the flashdrive using (FAT32, NTFS, etc.)?

    What size is the backup image? If split by TI due to FAT32 limitations (4GB), how many splits?
     
  3. peternm22

    peternm22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Posts:
    10
    Thanks for the quick reply.

    From within Windows.

    Windows again.

    Not yet. Is running it from the CD more reliable? When you say CD, do you mean from a boot disc?

    FAT32

    Just over 5GB. It is split into 2 files. It seems I can "mount" the files fine for browsing, but from what I've read that isn't a reliable indicator for data integrity.


    I've re-run the backup about 4 times (front USB ports, rear USB ports, after reformatting the USB drive, etc), and the progress bar for the Validation doesn't even start before it errors out. I backed up to a local SATA internal hard for a test, and the validation ran fine on that.

    Thanks for the help again.
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Yes. I mean the TI CD created using the Acronis Media Builder program.

    The Full Mode of TI on the CD is Linux-based. It accesses the hardware differently and may give different results. If you need to do a restore, this is the one that really needs to work properly because it's what will be used. Even if you start the restore in Windows, TI will reboot to the Linux version to do the restore (if it's the active Windows partition being restored).

    Mounting the image does not do anything as far as validating it. In many cases, a "corrupt" image can be mounted.

    Have you tried having TI split the image into smaller files (1GB splits, for example)? On some systems, smaller works better even though it results in more files. I ended up going down to 200MB splits to get one of my tests to work.
     
  5. peternm22

    peternm22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Posts:
    10
    I'll try the smaller splits tomorrow. I'll also try the recovery CD... and if none of that works then I'll try it on another PC (just to rule out the USB ports on my system).

    If all this fails, would it be safe to say the USB drive is defective? It's brand new (got it yesterday), and this is the first thing I've used it for.

    Thanks.
     
  6. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Anything in your PC that does not permit TI to recaclulate the checksums stored within the archvie will give the error. It can be bad stick, bad RAM, bad anything.

    Normal first approaches to the problem:
    Run chkdsk X: /r on the USB stick. (I assume that will work, never done it myself).

    Run memtest86+ on your PC RAM. Free from www.memtest.org .
    Let it run at least several passes, overnight is best.
     
  7. peternm22

    peternm22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Posts:
    10
    I tried running ATI on a computer at work, and I kept getting the error:

    "Failed to read data from the disk.", and then something about a particular sector. So I never even got a chance to test the USB backup at work.

    On the home computer now.... I tried splitting the archive into 1GB chunks, but I'm getting the same error on the home system now that I was on the work system (can't read data from disk etc). This part has been working fine from the home system for probably about 7-8 test backups, so it's odd that my hard drive suddenly has a bad sector. The error also happens right at the beginning of the backup, it never even starts before I get the error.

    I haven't had a chance to run the boot CD yet, but with all the problems Acronis is giving me, I don't know if it's even going to be worth it.

    I'm planning to run memtest tonight, so I'll see what happens with that. But I'm beginning to get very discouraged. :(
     
  8. peternm22

    peternm22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Posts:
    10
    I tried the boot CD, but since I'm using the trying version it won't allow me to backup.

    Unless someone has another idea, I think I'm done with True Image unfortunately.
     
  9. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    The method that causes the least amount of problems is to create and validate the archive on an internal HD. Ideally, this is done to a second HD or partiton but if you have enough space it can actually be done to the same partition you are backing up. TI will give a warning message but will do it.

    See if this works. If it does then you can pursue why the USB doesn't work. If it doesn't then you have some other problem.
     
  10. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello peternm22,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis True Image

    Switch your USB stick to "Optimize for performance" mode:

    a. Right-click the My Computer icon and then click Manage.
    b. Click the Device Manager icon.
    c. Click the plus (+) sign next to Disk Drives.
    d. Double-click on the USB stick string.
    e. Click the Policies button and select Optimize for performance item.

    If this doesn't help, contact our Live chat service here, our operators will help you to find the reason of the encountered issue.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.