v8 & v9 Pickle

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Hahaiah, Sep 25, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hahaiah

    Hahaiah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Posts:
    31
    Was using v8 with no problems on Desktop machine, used strictly boot disc and incremental worked great.

    Bought laptop and v8 images were taking 6 hours !

    Upgrading to v9 fixed speed issue, back to normal, but the damned incremental doesn't work, I keep getting full images.

    I just tested again by installing v9 full on windows on the laptop, created fresh full backup and then tried to add an incremental backup ... again HUGE full backup size ...

    frustrating

    Laptop is using ATI 200, Turion 64, Toshiba 80GB ...
     
  2. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello Hahaiah,

    Hmm, it could be that TI is having trouble reading your laptop's hard drive and is therefore falling back to sector-by-sector imaging. Have a read of Post #4 in this previous thread titled <Can ATI save *physical* images?> for an explanation, including the embeded link contained therein.

    Regards
     
  3. beenthereb4

    beenthereb4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    568
    A few people have seen this flaw. I can confirm that I have seen it too.
     
  4. Snakeyes

    Snakeyes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    Posts:
    52
    Me too !
    Going back to TI8. I have very little comfort in the integrity of any backups made by the clearly BETA software.
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Hahaiah,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please check each partition of your hard drives by Windows utility:

    - For Windows 9x please use Windows menu Start\Run
    then enter the command "scandskw" and test all drives;

    - For Windows XP please use Windows menu Start\Run, then enter the command
    "chkdsk c: /r" "chkdsk d: /r" for every partition of your hard drives.

    Create new full and corresponding incremental images after checking your hard drive and see if the problem still persists.

    If the problem still persists then please collect the following information:

    - Create Acronis Report and Windows System Information as it is described in Acronis Help Post;

    - What is the exact size and file name of the initial full image?

    - What is the exact size and file name of it's subsequent incremental image?

    - Describe actions taken before the problem appears step-by-step.

    Send all the collected files and information to support@acronis.com along with the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.