V5 Issue and firewall issue

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by SBMongoos, Sep 15, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SBMongoos

    SBMongoos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Posts:
    215
    I decided to make the switch to v5. I'm running into issues however. I opted to uninstall v4 and install v5 and did not export any settings. In v4 I had the firewall configured the way I wanted and set to interactive mode. However, in v5 I didn't see the option come up at install (although I'm guessing it was there). I have found a setting in the firewall that is allowing traffic for something I want denied. Even though I either remove it so I get prompted again via interactive mode or manually change it to deny it always switches back to allow. What is the point of this?
     
  2. P_R_

    P_R_ Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Posts:
    62
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Hello,

    the settings are preserved only when the version is upgraded.
    In case you uninstall older version, restart the system and install new version afterwards the settings are not preserved.

    So you are running the firewall in an interactive mode and in case you deny some connection the setting is not saved?

    Do you have checked "Remember action (create rule)" when allowing or denying connection?
    http://kb.eset.com/library/ESET/KB Team Only//SOLN2590/a3.png

    Thank you.
     
  3. SBMongoos

    SBMongoos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Posts:
    215
    I know. But it's recommended to not upgrade but uninstall/install.

    As I said I may have missed the option to set to interactive mode during install. This would have allowed for access out through the firewall. However, I caught and changed it to DENY only to go back and find it was going back to ALLOW. I was making the change within the Configure Rules and Zones.
     
  4. P_R_

    P_R_ Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Posts:
    62
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Hello,

    I would recommend you to open a ticket with your local ESET support.

    Please use in-product help and support option so your export of settings and SysInspector log could be delivered to them for further inspection.

    Thank you.
     
  5. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Firewall mode can be configured only when you choose advanced install type or you can configure it later in the program setup.
     
  6. SBMongoos

    SBMongoos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Posts:
    215
    Marcos... I think this is what I missed at the install. Thing is it doesn't make sense that I changed specific settings after the fact to DENY and went back later to find them back to ALLOW.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.