V5.2 gives error 372

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by sfrasher, Sep 30, 2015.

  1. sfrasher

    sfrasher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Posts:
    3
    I installed version 5.2 about a week ago and it ran. I got updates and everything worked. Yesterday I tried to run it and I got this error before it even loads the GUI.
    ------------------------------------
    Run-time error '372':

    Failed to load control 'UVirtualListView' from . Your version of may be
    outdated. Make sure you are using the version of the control that was
    provided with your application.

    Spywareblaster-error372.jpg

    -------------------------------------

    I am using Windows 8.1. My wife's computer is also 8.1 and it works normally on her computer. My computer is an HP Pavilion 20 and hers is an HP Pavilion 21.

    I have uninstalled several times, both from Control Panel and once from the installed "Uninstall.exe", and reinstalled it with no change.

    Any ideas? I have searched for hours trying to find something about this.
     
  2. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
  3. sfrasher

    sfrasher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Posts:
    3
  4. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,267
    Location:
    England
    See this Microsoft page for runtime error 372

    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/942870

     
  5. sfrasher

    sfrasher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Posts:
    3
    I tried again to re-install 5.4, but there is no option to install it for all users. I tried running it as Admin and it didn't help. I uninstalled and reinstalled two more times. Still won't work. I am also the only user, so it shouldn't be seeing any other user.
     
  6. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Hi,

    Please send an email to:

    bugreports AT brightfort DOT com

    In your e-mail please include a link to this thread and your username on these forums.

    (We'd like to track down what's causing the issue on your system.)

    Thanks!
     
  7. Synetech

    Synetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Canada
    I have the same problem (with 5.5; 5.2 worked fine). I assume it is because the new version uses a control that is only available in Vista and up. I could not find any information on UVirtualListView, so a typo may also be a possibility.
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2016
  8. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    What version of Windows are you running? XP? (Do you have Service Pack 3 installed?)

    5.5 has additional improvements for this issue that resolved every reported circumstance we could get our hands on (and didn't cause a single regression in exhaustive testing). So we'd like to track down why it doesn't seem to be working for you.

    Thanks in advance!
     
  9. Synetech

    Synetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Canada
    The XP system I ran it on failed with 5.5 but not 5.2. I’ll test it on Windows 7 on Monday (maybe Sunday).

    I ran it through Depends and did not see any obvious control dependency that would explain it. :confused:

    It seems that it spawns another copy of itself (spywareblaster.exe spawns another copy of spywareblaster.exe—with no arguments). Is that intentional?

    The error messages are just so frustratingly unhelpful. The KB article about it says that it should indicate what the failing control is and what tried to load it, but this is saying UVirtualListView which turns up no search hits, and the source is blank:
    http://i.imgur.com/KO6ewtX.png
    http://i.imgur.com/L1chcHn.png

    Here’s the call-stack when it gives the error dialog; hopefully it can help:
    MSVBVM60.DLL!MessageBoxPVoid+0x58
    MSVBVM60.DLL!VBDialogCover2+0x126
    MSVBVM60.DLL!VBMessageBox2+0x92
    MSVBVM60.DLL!HostDisplayMsgBox2+0x234
    MSVBVM60.DLL!HostDisplayMsgBox+0x19
    MSVBVM60.DLL!SafeHostDisplayMsgBox+0x98
    MSVBVM60.DLL!EbShowException+0x33
    MSVBVM60.DLL!RbyExecuteMain+0xe7
    MSVBVM60.DLL!CVBThreadAction::SetProjectData+0xc6
    MSVBVM60.DLL!CVBThreadAction::Start+0x12f
    MSVBVM60.DLL!CThreadPool::Init+0x9b
    MSVBVM60.DLL!ThunRTMain+0x5b
    spywareblaster.exe+0xfafa
    spywareblaster.exe+0x2a3254
    spywareblaster.exe+0x2a3318
    spywareblaster.exe+0x2850c4
    spywareblaster.exe+0x2f293b

    Could it have anything to do with the fact that SB enumerates every key under HKCR\CLSID?

    I traced SB’s file and registry accesses and there were several failed attempts to read some class IDs from CLSID interspersed with reads from HKLM\Software\Microsoft\COM3, but when I tried looking up the specified CLSIDs, there were zero hits.

    Maybe it now requires a specific version msvbvm60.dll or msvb7.dll or something?
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2016
  10. Synetech

    Synetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Canada
    I 5.5 it in Windows 7 today and got the same results:

    https://i.imgur.com/evUFjWM.png
    https://i.imgur.com/76S00mu.png

    Here’s the crash dump; it seems to point to MSVBVM60.DLL, maybe you have a different version?
    Problem signature:
    Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
    Application Name: spywareblaster.exe
    Application Version: 5.5.0.0
    Application Timestamp: 5730e677
    Fault Module Name: MSVBVM60.DLL
    Fault Module Version: 6.0.98.15
    Fault Module Timestamp: 4a5bda6c
    Exception Code: c0000005
    Exception Offset: 000cc34f
     
  11. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Hi,

    The cause of the problem is that it's failing to find the control MSCOMCTL.OCX.

    However, SpywareBlaster installs this control into a /dep subdirectory of the SpywareBlaster install folder, and uses a registration-free COM manifest to prevent issues just like this.

    Could you please verify that you have a copy of "MSCOMCTL.OCX" in a "dep" subdirectory of the SpywareBlaster install folder, and that there is *no* copy in the main SpywareBlaster install folder?

    Thanks!
     
  12. Synetech

    Synetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Canada
    Bingo, that fixed it. It's strange that it wasn't able to use the file if it is in the same directory or the one in the system directory.

    I wonder/hope that the issue that sfrasher was having with 5.2 has the same cause, because it is an easy fix.

    Thanks a lot, now I can continue to keep my system secure-er for a little longer. :thumb: