V4 - Anti Virus Protection is Disabled

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by weemarn, Jun 12, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. weemarn

    weemarn Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Posts:
    34
    Hi,
    Is there anyway to enable a client that is showing as 'anti-virus protection is disabled'?
    i have pushed out another config with no success.
    cheers
     
  2. weemarn

    weemarn Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Posts:
    34
    any ideas would be greatly appreciated......:ninja:
     
  3. ThomasC

    ThomasC Former ESET Support Rep

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Posts:
    209
    Hello,

    There is most likely something else going on here. Has it ever worked on this client? When did it stop working? What OS and SP are you running? What was the previous AV on this machine and was it completely removed? Simply uninstalling AV software will sometimes leave drivers and services behind that will conflict with any other AV. Was this an upgrade from V3? Did you uninstall V3 first or install V4 over the top of V3? If you remote into the client can you simply start the real-time protection. If not, I would recommend uninstalling completely via the following KB articles instructions here.


    If there was a previous AV other than ESET you may want to run their removal tool for good measure. Here is a KB with common removal utilities.


    After ever thing is removed I would do an install of the latest build of V4 from here.

    -Cheers
     
  4. weemarn

    weemarn Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Posts:
    34
    Hi,
    The client is XP SP3 with a clean install of v4_0_424. The client has worked for for the last 4 weeks. Clients are protected with a password.
    My question is can i restart from the ERAC?
    Cheers
     
  5. ThomasC

    ThomasC Former ESET Support Rep

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Posts:
    209
    If the client is set for real time protection to be enabled that is all you would do to start the module. You could uncheck the setting in one task then turn it back on in the next. This under normal circumstances would stop then restart the real time file system protection. If it is still not starting then there is some other issue. What was the previous AV? This is most commonly the issue. Remnants of previous AV will sometimes start up after some time has passed and cause this issue.
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2009
  6. VSSC support

    VSSC support Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Posts:
    28
    i have an issue like that to our client. the antivirus and anti spyware is disable when i totally disable the firewall of eset smart security the antivirus and anti spyware is enable. what will be the cause? the OS is vista.
     
  7. weemarn

    weemarn Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Posts:
    34
    hi,
    previous was v3.0.672.
    Thanks
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.