v4.0 On a positive note-

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by Taliscicero, Mar 4, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Taliscicero

    Taliscicero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,439
    Just making a thread to say thank you to ESET's team, I use the new smart security on my vista laptop and i haven't had a single problem.

    Firewall is improved by quite a lot, even on the basic mode on comodo's CLT test it gets over 120 points, and that is great for a firewall that doesn't even bother you with prompts.

    And the AV engine is definitely better i used the version 3.0 on a set of 1000 malware sample's i had and it detected around 810'ish, And the new version using the heuristic engine detects 970 files, so that's a pretty good jump in detection.

    The menu's are nice a neat, however i don't understand why in the top right hand corner there's the shoulder of the NOD robot makes no sense but its alright, new icon is also great.

    So basically great for the less knowledgeable user and great for the experienced user, all in all a great success for ESET as of yet i have had no problems.

    Thanks.
     
  2. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,853
    I don't understand the shoulder either, I would much rather have the eye.
     
  3. Taliscicero

    Taliscicero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,439
    Well the GUI is not overly important, The Shoulder is growing on me but it could look so much better with the ThreatSence logo or something similar up there!
     
  4. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,016
    Yeah, to improve Eset's score, I can call myself as an another satisfied user with the new v4. Having a VAIO with Vista Business SP1. I did complete uninstallation of v3 including cleaning of remnants and did clean installation of v4. I have been playing a lot with different settings and I have to honestly say that the v4 works flawlessly. Even with maximum protection enabled (I mean ticked all options like the advanced heuristic, runtime packers, potentialy exploitable applications and so on) I don't feel any slowdown.
    Almost forgot, one pain though - SSL filtering doesn't work as it should, getting errors or damaged pages. So I disabled this option and will wait for next release where I trust Eset will improve that.
    Nevertheless, my vote for clarification from Eset about HIPS implementation, seems I can't find that feature in settings.
     
  5. OAKside

    OAKside Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Posts:
    36
    QFT (That's a "shoulder"? :doubt:)
     
  6. Taliscicero

    Taliscicero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,439
    You better balieve it.
     
  7. Weyrman

    Weyrman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Posts:
    12
    Just a thought. Having the shoulder in the corner makes all the info and settings in the "chest" area. You know, the "heart" of the system. :D
     
  8. bluesman821

    bluesman821 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Posts:
    7
    I'm sorry to hear about the problems alot of people are having with V.4. I seem to have purchased a three pack license without knowing of a new version or any problems.Fortunately for me I have had no problems what so ever.I have ESS installed on one desktop and I am waiting for the CD to install on two laptops.
     
  9. zooburner

    zooburner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Posts:
    43
    Location:
    England
    Yes i agree

    I've been away at **whispers* Kaspersky for a few years, but this new Smart Security has me won over, its nice to look at, has several depths (though in truth the only change i have made is to the firewall to allow interactive mode, otherwise defaults are fine)

    Its also much faster than Kaspersky, which in truth is very good but they seem to have got over eager the lasts straw was when my DVD burner wouldnt work despite adding it to exclusions etc, however i have no such problem with Eset, it seems to burn faster too !!

    I will let the trial run out before i buy though to get the most out of a free month

    Just one thing .. i too noticed the shoulder thing, but it looks more like a fridge handle or a car door to me.. how odd a choice..lol

    zoo:D
     
  10. miki69

    miki69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Posts:
    133
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Couldn't agree more!. This shoulder is quite odd and stupid choice if you ask me. Like you said, why not EYE (which is already in the task bar) or small i-robot instead (which looks kind of retarded to me).

    But I guess it could be worse, having his FEET or TOES (like "I have whole world under my feet") :)

    EDIT: honestly speaking this would be great :) :) http://www.eset.pl/download/tapety/ESET_Smart_Security_1024x768.jpg

    Cheers,
    Miki
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2009
  11. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,853
    Need more of those...
     
  12. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Despite all the problems I'm having with v4 on my XP machine, the copy on my Vista laptop is working with no problems at all.

    Colin
     
  13. Eagle2000

    Eagle2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Posts:
    14
    3DFireStarteR ..
    Whoud you please connect your laptop to a LAN and a shared printer and check if you can see all shared PC.s and your laptop on LAN and if you can print a sheet o_O? I could not do that with v4.0 but well done on v3.0...
    This is the problem I am facing with ESS v4.0 so I rolled back to ESS v3.0..
    May I am wrong !!!!!!
     
  14. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    I'd suggest disabling all IDS rules to see if it makes a difference. If you're able to print then, re-enable the IDS rules and also enable logging of all blocked connection attempts. Try to replicate the problem and then check the firewall log to see if some connection attempts were blocked. If the shared printer is attached to another computer, is that computer in your firewall's Trusted zone?
     
  15. Eagle2000

    Eagle2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Posts:
    14
    Dear MARCOS...I have posted details here..no one answer me..Re-Post for you:
    I am using Vista 32 Bit Ulrimate facing problems with firewall in ESS v4.0and that
    my LAN PC's sometime disconnected from each other.I have 4 PC's linked as
    a LAN never faced problems with ESS v3.0.I can not print with shared printer
    some times PC 1 sees all PC,s and sudennly it is disconnected from LAN
    I did all what comes here :
    http://kb.eset.com/esetkb/index?page...tp=LIST_RECENT
    but nothing changed.I created rules for TCP & UDP in both directions and never solved this issue.When check the log it says that port scan attack detected from PC on my LAN and disconnected it.I tried every thing I found on this forum nothing changed BUT disabling firewall solves this and rolling back to v 3.0 also solved this issue.I hope ESS v4.0 firewall will be like that in v3.0...finally I rolled back to ESS v3.0
    and..for more info I compared all the rules in rules setup in both ESS v3.0 and ESS v4.0 and made them all the same one by one and applied the changes still the same issue could not see my LAN PC's .very strange behaviou rsometimes one PC is seen then 2 then 3 then no one then all and so on.sometimes see 1 pc try to copy files from it in the middle way disconnected and give a message client PC not available check log ..find disconnecte host port scan attack.ex :[10.0.0.8:5355.] I do not understand this issue..
     
  16. Eagle2000

    Eagle2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Posts:
    14
    This is the Log ...MARCOS..

    3/14/2009 2:36:42 PM Address temporarily blocked by active defense (IDS) 10.0.0.8:137 10.0.0.7:137 UDP
    3/14/2009 2:36:42 PM Address temporarily blocked by active defense (IDS) 10.0.0.8:5355 10.0.0.7:65353 UDP
    3/14/2009 2:36:42 PM Address temporarily blocked by active defense (IDS) 10.0.0.8:5355 10.0.0.7:65353 UDP
    3/14/2009 2:36:41 PM Address temporarily blocked by active defense (IDS) 10.0.0.8:137 10.0.0.7:137 UDP
    3/14/2009 2:36:41 PM Address temporarily blocked by active defense (IDS) 10.0.0.8:137 10.0.0.7:137 UDP
    3/14/2009 2:36:40 PM Address temporarily blocked by active defense (IDS) 10.0.0.8:137 10.0.0.7:137 UDP
    3/14/2009 2:36:40 PM Address temporarily blocked by active defense (IDS) 10.0.0.8:137 10.0.0.7:137 UDP
    3/14/2009 2:36:39 PM Address temporarily blocked by active defense (IDS) 10.0.0.8:137 10.0.0.7:137 UDP
    3/14/2009 2:36:39 PM Address temporarily blocked by active defense (IDS) 10.0.0.8:137 10.0.0.7:137 UDP
    3/14/2009 2:36:39 PM Address temporarily blocked by active defense (IDS) 10.0.0.8:5355 10.0.0.7:52761 UDP

    10.0.0.7 is this PC that gives this log and 10.0.0.8 is the one the printer attached to in my LAN
     
  17. Taliscicero

    Taliscicero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,439
    Works fine here, On Vista 32~

    Perhaps ESET will fix this issue for you but other then finding a way to disable IDS for the time being i cant think of a solution.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.