v3.0.5.185 invalid handler

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by apm, Aug 26, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. apm

    apm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Posts:
    162
    after install v3.0.5.185, when open app from Quick Launch icon get invalid handler error.:doubt:

    system: Winxp sp3
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  3. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Also, does this happen every time? We might be able to see more from a remote support session if you have it in a reproducible state, but for now, could you try lowering the Prevx self protection from maximum to medium?

    Thanks!
     
  4. Konata Izumi

    Konata Izumi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Posts:
    1,544
    It does happen on me when I was on XP SP3 too.
     
  5. dholiday

    dholiday Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Posts:
    48
    Same here. Twice using the latest release candidate 189 with self protection set to max, but not able to reproduce.
    Those two occurred when opening Opera's latest 10.70 beta and Win Patrol.
    Now back to 3.0.5.187
    OS XPSP 3
     
  6. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden
    That's odd. I thought I was the only one having the same problem, but I couldn't really relate it to Prevx. These error messages are completely random and I'll try to printscreen the next time. It did however, only happen a few times over the last weeks.
     
  7. Konata Izumi

    Konata Izumi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Posts:
    1,544
    It happens alot under Windows XP PRO SP3 LUA/SRP disallowed-default,DEP on all programs, with SuRun installed.

    It begun after the latest windows update that fixes LNK exploit.
     
  8. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Very interesting - would this be happening frequently enough as to be able to reproduce it during a remote session? To be fair, I saw it myself well over a year ago but haven't seen it since as I believe we had fixed it back then.

    Let me know what you find! :)
     
  9. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden
    At least for me, it would be useless with a remote session, as the problem seldom occurs. It really isn't an issue for me (as I stated previously, I couldn't even relate it to Prevx before I read this post). :)

    I'm running Win 7 x64 under admin account.
     
  10. dholiday

    dholiday Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Posts:
    48
    Just again when opening a program other than those referenced in previous post.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.