v11 looks good but ?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Roger Macon, Apr 9, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Roger Macon

    Roger Macon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    62
    I am now updated to v11 and very much like the new features I am seeing. One feature I like is that I can go to Explorer and open up the backup, saved on a single partition (just for backups) dedicated hard drive, find the specific file I want to view/restore then copy/save it to the desktop and do whatever. Another feature that looks very interesting is Try&Decide. Has anyone else used this feature extensively? I have not tried it yet but it appears to have a lot of potential security benefits. I have not found much mentioned about Try&Decide on this forum so far.

    I have done one Full System BackUP, without compression and with verify, on the single partition dedicated external hard drive, and it went well but took a great number of hours. On the following day I did an Incremental BackUP to the Full System BackUP, with verify, and after +-10 hours the Incremental BackUP was showing 0% progress so I cancelled the process. Between the Full System BackUP and the Incremental BackUP there was very little work done on the computer so it seems that an Incremental BackUP would have gone easily and completed in a very short time. On the following day I attempted an Incremental BackUP but after +- 14 hours 0% progress had taken place so I cancelled out.

    In a post I observed that if a backup was hanging then it was suggested to download some Acronis drivers. I downloaded and installed the suggested drivers and that helped for I was able to get some progress after +- 8 hours as apposed to 0% progress but the Incremental BackUP had not completed so I cancelled out.

    The computer OS is XPpro with ServPac 2.

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. uptone

    uptone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Posts:
    52
    Hello Roger

    I need to tell you that an Acronis backup should not take long to do even if you are backing up a whole drive (large drive). For example, I just did a backup of an entire 250gig drive with duel boot xp and vista systems installed and approx 60gb of data in less than 20 minutes. I do not have a very fast computer either as compared to some.

    Considering facts, I would say you may have driver problems or spyware problems with your system. My suggestion would be to try to eliminate any system problems that you may have before you backup.
     
  3. Roger Macon

    Roger Macon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    62
    Uptone,

    Thanks for the response! What would you suggest being the best thing to do in order to check for driver or spyware problems? As previously noted, I have updated Acronis drivers. and it helped get the Incremental backup up and going from 0% but did not give enoughhhhhh UMPH to finish.
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2008
  4. davshu

    davshu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Posts:
    25
  5. Roger Macon

    Roger Macon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    62
    davshul

    Thanks for responding! I was using NORMAL and the dropped down to NONE but there was no change. In the thread you noted I see you mentioned doing "a repair on TI 8053". How did you do that?
     
  6. uptone

    uptone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Posts:
    52
    Just for the heck of it Roger, I would suggest you might take a fast look at your system. Get a couple of spyware checkers like Spybot and/or Ad-Aware and run them on your system to clean out any garbage. The two spyware checkers I just mentioned can be downloaded at Download.com for free and they are very good.

    Another thing that you might want to check if you haven't already done so is your registry. There is a great registry checker that's called Registry Mechanic which is not free but you can run it for free. It will tell you how many errors there are in your registry. Be carefull with registry checkers though because there are a lot of registry checkers out there that are bad. I will vouch for Registry Mechanic though because I use it all the time. I think you can download it also at Download.com. If you do use it and want it to fix your registry errors (I can almost guarentee you will have a lot of registry errors) you will have to purchase the license. Registry errors can and do bog down your computer and can even cause your computer to crash.
     
  7. davshu

    davshu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Posts:
    25
    When I did "a repair on TI 8053",
    I just did Start / Control Panel / Programs / Programs and Features.
    It displays a list of the programs.
    I highlighted Acronis and an Unistall and a Repair button appear.
    I just clicked Repair.

    I am running Vista, but I presume it would be similar for XP.
    I think for XP it is Add/Remove Programs in the Control Panel to get the list of programs.

    Good luck.
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Roger Macon,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Could you please clarify, have you created a files/folders backup or a disk/partition image? Is the external hard drive connected via USB2.0 port?

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  9. como

    como Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Posts:
    498
    You say you have updated ti TI 11 but don't say what from, neither do you say whether you carried out the backup from Windows or the rescue disk.

    If you have used the rescue disk then I suggest that you create either a BartPE or VistaPE disk as the rescue disk uses Linux and the drivers may not play nicely with your system, whereas the BartPE and VistaPE uses Windows drivers
     
  10. Roger Macon

    Roger Macon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    62
    davshu,
    Thanks for the suggestion but in ADD/REMOVE programs I do no see REPAIR with XPpro. I wonder if there is another way to do the same.

    ACRONIS
    It was a disk/partition image on an external hard drive connected via USB2.0 port?

    como
    It was updated from v9 Build 3677 using Windows. I have never done a backup from the rescue disk. Should that be done on a regular basis. Seems like an extra step that is not a preference. Have generally read about BartPE on the forum but at the moment it is beyound my current level of understanding and not a preference. I would prefer to work from within the current Software.

    Thanks to all for responding!
     
  11. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Roger Macon,

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Could you please clarify if Acronis Drivers you installed were from this link?
    Please also clarify, is backing up to internal drives equally slow?

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.