using VMware to test Windows installation

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by WSFuser, Jan 18, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    i would like a way to test my nLite CDs without having to install them, and my guess is that VMware allows me to do exactly that, but how?

    also do i need teh full VMware Workstation? iirc that costs money.

    and lastly, how much system memory would i need?
     
  2. OldMX

    OldMX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Posts:
    170
  3. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    do u know how to load/run an ISO with it?
     
  4. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    Link1
    Link2
    :)
    You may also use re-writable media.
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2007
  5. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    ok thx, i will check it out.
     
  6. KDNeese

    KDNeese Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Posts:
    236
    Make sure you are using XP Professional and not XP Home edition. From what I've read, it will not run on XP Home. I was going to try it until I learned it wouldn't run on my machine, which is Windows XP Home Edition. VMWare runs fine on XP Home, though.

     
  7. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,698
    Hello,
    You can try the free VMware Server without problems.
    When building a .vmx file, you can specify cd-raw or cd-image.
    If it's image, you give it a name, like vlited.iso, and it will mount it like normal CD.
    Mrk
     
  8. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    it worked like a charm and ive booted off the ISO.

    thanks again for the links :thumb:
     
  9. Alphalutra1

    Alphalutra1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,160
    Location:
    127.0.0.0/255.0.0.0
    It runs perfectly fine on Windows Home. You just won't receive support for it. Trust me, I have used it and it works. However, I prefer VMware server to it anyways, so it doesn't really matter.

    Cheers,

    Alphalutra1
     
  10. KDNeese

    KDNeese Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Posts:
    236
    Thanks. I would say the advantage of VMWare Server is that Microsoft didn't design it! ;)
     
  11. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    MS Virtual PC isn't designed by Microsoft either. :D
     
  12. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,047
    True of 2004. But the 2007 version is. Any one care to guess what will happen to 2004 version once 2007 is out of beta?
     
  13. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    ehm, continue to be available in the torrent like networks?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.