Using TIv11/2009 Problems?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by gumboman, Nov 2, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gumboman

    gumboman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    32
    I'm still having problems using TI. I had TIv11 and upgraded to v2009 as it indicated it would be easier to use. Not So! Here is what I want to do, and maybe someone can direct me in how to set this up (I've worked with TI for months and cannot seem to get it done);

    I have an internal harddrive with 3 partitions. I have an external harddrive that I want to back the partitions up to. As I understand it, you need to create an "Acronis Secure Zone" on the external drive to house the backups (I tried this, create a zone and told it to keep two backup only, for 90 days - my understanding was it would created the backup and on the 3rd would delete the oldest one staying at two - not so, just keep adding more backups)

    In 2009, I am finding it very difficult to define the zone and then create the proper backups task to accomplish my objectives. I know I am doing something wrong, but it there someone or something that can walk me through this procedure - I feel it should be very simple, but TI sure makes it very complicated.

    Any help is appreciated.

    gumboman
     
  2. Aussie42

    Aussie42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Posts:
    64
    You do not need to create any "Secure Zones", just backup directly to your external drive.
     
  3. gumboman

    gumboman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    32
    Thanks, and then you have to manually delete the old backups - right?
     
  4. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    As Aussie42 mentioned, you don't need an SZ and indeed Acronis do not guarantee that it will work correctly on an external drive. there have also been some problems pointing TI2009 to wherean SZ has been set up, though that is a different topic.

    All you need to do, is to:

    Click on either the backup wizard or the task wizard.

    Tick DISK 1 (this will image all 3 partitions + MBR)
    Click next or click on Target Archive formthe panel on the left.
    Leave Create new backup archive as the selected option
    Click the browse button in the panle below the one mentioned above
    Navigate to your external drive (make sure the drive is connected and running BEFORE opening TI).
    Give the file a meaningful name
    Click next - and you are finished assuming you don't want to play with consolidation options.

    If you chose to make a task, then you will have been offered scheduling options.

    Before making any image, it will save you much hair scratching on a restore, if you give all your partitions meaningful names from within Windows. This is useful as the rescue environment uses Linux and it does not issue drive letters in the same order as Windows - names/labels of course do not alter.

    One more thing will be to make a rescue CD and make sure it can see all your drives.

    Colin
     
  5. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    And note that you will be able to keep only one Full backup in a location -- each subsequent run of the Full Task will overwrite the prior Full backup -- unless you manually create backups and supply unique filenames.
     
  6. gumboman

    gumboman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    32
    Thanks all - I have been successful in creating backups of all 3 partitions and have been able to restore individual files (either to the original location or new locations).

    I will go ahead and forget about the SZ for now.

    Thanks again
    gumboman
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for your interesting in Acronis True Image

    Also the latest build (9646) of Acronis True Image Home 2009 let you automatically store desired number of backup archives. The latest build of Acronis True Image Home 2009 has the ability to create desired number of incremental/differential backup archives after the full backup. The functionality is similar to Backup Location Management in earlier product versions (Acronis True Image 10.0 Home and Acronis True Image 11 Home). You can find it in Optional Steps -> Backup Method while performing backup wizard setup.

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
  8. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    But does it provide automatic deletion of the oldest Full after the user-set number of Full backups has been exceeded?


     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello shieber,

    Please accept our apologies for the delay with the response.

    No, such feature is not implemented in current build of Acronis True Image Home 2009. The only way to handle automatic backup management is to save backups onto Acronis Secure Zone or set up Automatic Consolidation.

    Please check this article for detailed description.

    Please also keep in mind that full information about consolidation is available in 11.4 chapter of User's Guide.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexander Nikolsky
     
  10. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    See Post 4 in this thread Vlad V has figured out a way to fool ATI12/2009 into automated management of fulls -- this works, at least so long as Acronis doesn't change the error handling in a subsequent build ;-)

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=228046

    Basically, you tell it to make Incs but then tell it to make Zero as the number, then under Consolidation you tell it to consolidate after x many files.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.