Using TI 8 with GoBack

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by charlesn56, Oct 21, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. charlesn56

    charlesn56 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Posts:
    10
    I am creating a disk image using the last build of TI 8, I have also run into this problem with earlier versions of TI. When I disable GoBack or choose not to disable GoBack, the TI software locks-up at some point during the image process and I have to reboot. Any ideas of what might be the problem. I really do not what to remove the GoBack software and reinstall it each time I want to do a backup image.
     
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,040
    Hi Charles

    You may have to do what you don't want. I don't think GoBack is compatible with imaging software. One of the reasons I switched to FDISR(raxco). You can disable the preboot, and remove FDISR from the MBR, image your disk, and then reenable. I don't believe there is anyway you can do anything comparable with GoBack
     
  3. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    Aaaah, I LOVE FDISR ! I have it on all three of our machines at home. Very reliable and can be a great way to create a separate and isolated clean Win XP install and check out software you're having trouble with ! ;)
     
  4. DonKid

    DonKid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    566
    Location:
    S?o Paulo, Brazil
    If you are going to restore your image, you have to remove GoBack from the MBR too or disable it inside Windows.
    I use TI 9 and GoBack at work without any kind of problem.

    Best Regards,

    DonKid.
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2005
  5. Alwill

    Alwill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Posts:
    76
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    This FAQ deals with the subject.
     
  6. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,040
    Significant difference for TI users. When I disable MBR with FDISR I don't lose history. It is included in the ATI archive. When you disable Go-Back you do lose the history. Significant difference.
     
  7. Crashpilot

    Crashpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Posts:
    23
    Hi,

    That FDISR info is great news since I had GoBack installed and it took endless until all the stuff was removed when I disabled it. Since that also removed all stored data I finally removed GoBack completely.

    Thank you all

    Crashpilot
     
  8. Kapiti

    Kapiti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Posts:
    270
    Location:
    Paraparaumu NZ
    Disadvange with FDISR is the inablitiy to work with Fat 32, no such problem with GoBack.

    John
     
  9. charlesn56

    charlesn56 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Posts:
    10
    Thanks for the help!. When the FAQ ref. to disable GoBack, to me that is not telling me to remove the GoBack software from my HD. There was one time with an early ver. of TI 8 that I did get a image of my disk with GoBack running. But, in all the other times I have had to remove the software from my HD, run TI and then reinstall GoBack. These are both good programs but I wish I could run them together. Any other thoughts?
     
  10. Kapiti

    Kapiti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Posts:
    270
    Location:
    Paraparaumu NZ
    Using TrueImage v8 I make all my backup images from within Windows without removing, or disabling GoBack.

    You will need to disable GoBack before restoring an image but there is no need to uninstall GoBack before restoring.

    This is well documented on the Acronis Web Site.

    John
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.