Using the Windows XP SP3?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Darth AkSarBen, Feb 4, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Darth AkSarBen

    Darth AkSarBen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Posts:
    109
    Location:
    Near Fennville, MI USA
    Anyone using the new released Windows XP Service Pac 3 RC1? Just wondering how it is doing. I installed it on one computer, but had to uninstall it due to some strange behaviors. I thought I was going to have to reformat before I was through. I'm hoping that they do fix some compatibility stuff in there.
     
  2. appster

    appster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Posts:
    530
    Location:
    Paradise (Hawaii)
    Haven't tried it personally, but a fellow instructor at UH installed the latest SP3 (RCR2) last week - he is raving about how it has iimproved XP's performance and without any issues (so far)!

    As for me, I'll wait until the final is released - hopefully in a couple of months.
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2008
  3. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,827
    Location:
    USA
    Ahhh....I remember before SP2 came out somebody came out with the unoffical SP2, it was just a collection of single updates. Some updates were just betas, did some terrible things to peoples computers. I...I think I'll wait. I don't want to have to reformat my computer
     
  4. Hairy Coo

    Hairy Coo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Posts:
    1,486
    Location:
    Northern Beaches
    Works OK but it doesnt speed things up-its just a collection of updates plus a few new features which shouldn't affect the performance.
    Think the speed increase isnt real,except if its on a freshly installed Windows.
     
  5. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    5,633
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    I'm on XP Pro so personally i'll leave any performance gains up to the hardware + power supply. $M can't possibly IMO do much to improve performance, security hole coverage maybe, but performance is an area they sorely lack in.

    I doubt seriously that i will even bother with it as it's sure to gum things up after i spent 2 years fine tuning their RAW release and pulling myriads of useless and wasteful files/programs from off my installs.

    I don't use N-Lite btw, i manually separate the useful from the bloat.
     
  6. MikeNAS

    MikeNAS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Posts:
    697
    Location:
    FiNLAND
    I'm using SP3 RC (3282) and everything works fine. Today I'm testing my own customized Vista Ultimate (fit on CD).
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.