Using the Windows XP SP3?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Darth AkSarBen, Feb 4, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Darth AkSarBen

    Darth AkSarBen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Posts:
    109
    Location:
    Near Fennville, MI USA
    Anyone using the new released Windows XP Service Pac 3 RC1? Just wondering how it is doing. I installed it on one computer, but had to uninstall it due to some strange behaviors. I thought I was going to have to reformat before I was through. I'm hoping that they do fix some compatibility stuff in there.
     
  2. appster

    appster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Posts:
    553
    Location:
    Paradise (Hawaii)
    Haven't tried it personally, but a fellow instructor at UH installed the latest SP3 (RCR2) last week - he is raving about how it has iimproved XP's performance and without any issues (so far)!

    As for me, I'll wait until the final is released - hopefully in a couple of months.
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2008
  3. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,906
    Location:
    USA
    Ahhh....I remember before SP2 came out somebody came out with the unoffical SP2, it was just a collection of single updates. Some updates were just betas, did some terrible things to peoples computers. I...I think I'll wait. I don't want to have to reformat my computer
     
  4. Hairy Coo

    Hairy Coo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Posts:
    1,486
    Location:
    Northern Beaches
    Works OK but it doesnt speed things up-its just a collection of updates plus a few new features which shouldn't affect the performance.
    Think the speed increase isnt real,except if its on a freshly installed Windows.
     
  5. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    7,112
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    I'm on XP Pro so personally i'll leave any performance gains up to the hardware + power supply. $M can't possibly IMO do much to improve performance, security hole coverage maybe, but performance is an area they sorely lack in.

    I doubt seriously that i will even bother with it as it's sure to gum things up after i spent 2 years fine tuning their RAW release and pulling myriads of useless and wasteful files/programs from off my installs.

    I don't use N-Lite btw, i manually separate the useful from the bloat.
     
  6. MikeNAS

    MikeNAS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Posts:
    697
    Location:
    FiNLAND
    I'm using SP3 RC (3282) and everything works fine. Today I'm testing my own customized Vista Ultimate (fit on CD).
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.