Using the OEM-version of Windows

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Newby, Jun 24, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Newby

    Newby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Posts:
    153
    Question to IT-managers

    Got a new laptop from work, it has windows 7 32 bits Pro on it. The Windows 7 sticker on the back said it came with Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bits on it. It also had a windows 7 ultimate x64 (of Dell) installation disk.

    So I went to our IT-manager and ask him about it. He said that they put a default image on with difference lisence. The company does nothing with the OEM version, just registrated the purchase (with all identifying data) and users in case of misuse to track down possible offenders.

    I asked him may I use it, he repeated with a laugh. The company does nothing with the OEM version, just registrated the purchase (with all identifying data) and users in case of misuse to track down possible offenders. Later on a colleque of mine told me he had used that version on his own PC, said it waqs okay: (Windows forum ) and( blog link)

    So I backup my image and succeeded in installing a Dell OEM on my desktop.I don't mind a free upgrade from home to ultimate. I had ultimate on a laptop in the past. When the laptop died due to coffee accident, I refurbished my desktop and bought a Windows7 Home (died laptop had no installation disk, money of insurance did not cover a new laptop).

    Anyone knows more about this (legal or not)? Thanks
     
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2013
  2. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Sounds to me like your company has a corporate license that includes x number of PC licenses. You and your buddy just reduced the install license count by two by installing that Ulimate version on your home PCs. Hopefully your company doesn't use a good IT auditor.
     
  3. Windows_Security

    Windows_Security Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Posts:
    3,077
    Location:
    Netherlands
    As I understand it, the PC's CAME with OEM ULTIMATE, the IT-manager replaced it with PRO images from his CORPORATE lisence

    How come ?
     
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2013
  4. mechBgon

    mechBgon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Posts:
    68
    Location:
    USA
    Since you asked: no, that's a violation of the license agreement.
     
  5. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,984
    Location:
    Canada
    That seems to be the case, AFAIK. OEM licenses are tied to the hardware their included with and installed on. They can't be transferred to different hardware, but I believe it's okay to transfer to different end users, as long as it remains on the original hardware it's tied to.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.