Using JonDoFox with multihop VPN (question)

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by Phil McCrevis, Apr 1, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Phil McCrevis

    Phil McCrevis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    US
    I've been using Tor for quite a while (browser bundle) however it's just to slow and I've been try to find an alternative that's faster. Would love to use JonDo's proxy service however just a tad to expensive for me. I have a years subscription to a VPN service that has multi-hop as well as single, encryption used on openvpn is aes-256 / 2048. They're located in Malta and keep no logs.

    I recently downloaded JonDoFox and think I have it configured correctly but not sure. Read a few posts in a couple different forums that said when using a JonDoFox with a VPN service you should select the No Proxy setting, however when I do this I see additional red and orange boxes as seen in the pics below indicating I'm less secure? When I toggle the preferences to the Custom setting Most are green with the exception of two that are red.

    JonDoFox settings: should I set it to Custom or No Proxy when using with VPN?



    JonDoFox Settings: No Proxy

    http://i1268.photobucket.com/albums/jj580/cnebearz/JonDoFoxSettingsNoProxy1.jpg

    http://i1268.photobucket.com/albums/jj580/cnebearz/JonDoFoxSettingsNoProxy.jpg


    ---------------------------------------------------------------


    JonDoFox Settings: Custom

    http://i1268.photobucket.com/albums/jj580/cnebearz/JonDoFoxSettingsCUSTOM1.jpg

    http://i1268.photobucket.com/albums/jj580/cnebearz/JonDoFoxSettingsCUSTOM.jpg




    I'm about as boring as they come and don't plan on using this for anything dodgy, just don't like the fact that the gubment and other sites can collect information about me and use it for whatever purpose they like. Just want something that keeps google, yahoo and all the other larges sites from collecting info on my browsing habits. Would using JonDoFox (as configured above) along with a good vpn service stop sites from collecting info on me? Or am I just wasting my time?





    .
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2012
  2. syncmaster913n

    syncmaster913n Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    Posts:
    153
    One thing you should keep in mind is that if you are logged into a website, they can still collect information on your activity, no matter what IP you are connecting from. So if you are doing searches via Google while being logged into your Google profile, they can still track your activity, no matter if the IP address is changing or not - since your user account is constant. Same goes for forums and other websites. So it is not enough to just anonymize your IP address; you must change your browsing habits as well. Just my two cents.
     
  3. Phil McCrevis

    Phil McCrevis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    US
    Thanks, will keep that in mind.
     
  4. PaulyDefran

    PaulyDefran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,163
    I've used 'No Proxy' while on my VPN. I think those extra orange alerts are because of some features the JonDo proxy provides.

    PD
     
  5. Phil McCrevis

    Phil McCrevis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    US

    So do you set it to Custom while using it with your VPN service?
     
  6. PaulyDefran

    PaulyDefran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,163
    I have to be honest, I don't use JonDo Portable all that often. I downloaded it to try, but I have regular FF Portable set up with a ton of privacy plug ins, and never made the switch fully. That said, I just opened it up and it looks to me that 'No Proxy' and 'Custom' are the same thing, out of the box. With 'Custom', there is no proxy filled in, and the ports are at 0...so it seems to act just like 'No Proxy' does. All the same fields are orange and red, with either config.

    PD
     
  7. Phil McCrevis

    Phil McCrevis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    US

    I did forget to mention that I made one small tweak after I installed JonDoFox as seen in the pics below. If you do the same then you should see the same results that I get when I run the ip-check.info test. Should see better results when Custom mode is selected, I'm just curious if this actually makes any difference (when Custom mode is selected/used).
     

    Attached Files:

  8. LockBox

    LockBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    2,275
    Location:
    Here, There and Everywhere
    Using JonDoFox, if Proxy is checked and you're not connected to the JonDoNym network - it doesn't work at all, does it? Using Custom, you can use it with your own VPN. I might be wrong, Phil, but isn't that the case? Good luck!
     
  9. Phil McCrevis

    Phil McCrevis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    US

    Seems to work fine in either mode (No Proxy or Custom mode) with or without VPN. I just see different/better results when in Custom mode. If I toggle it to the Tor or JonDo setting then I get the JonDoFox page (cannot go to any others sites).


    If I select JonDo this is the only page that will load (see attachment below). I also see this page if I select Tor.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 3, 2012
  10. PaulyDefran

    PaulyDefran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,163
    Thanks, I'll play with it when I get a chance. I am of the mind that having a user agent that the rest of the world has, is better...get lost in the noise sort of thing. Mine is currently at 'Unchanged'.

    PD
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.