Using IE feature to get Noscript like functionality

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by moontan, Jun 30, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    title inspired by Kees...
    ----

    I found this yesterday and I thought I'd share it with you folks for those who wants some kind NoScript-like feature in Internet Explorer.

    found here:
    http://krebsonsecurity.com/2013/06/web-badness-knows-no-bounds/
     
  2. SirDrexl

    SirDrexl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Posts:
    545
    Location:
    USA
    Will this allow you to selectively block third-party scripts, or is it all or none? I mean, one thing I like about NoScript is being able to allow "www.goodsite.com" but denying AdSense, Facebook, etc. running on the same page.
     
  3. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,853
    Yes you can do that by using the zones, then entering sites into them e.g. the restricted zone.
     
  4. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    tried it and it could be a solution if you only surf a few sites regularly.

    but more than that and it becomes a chore.

    unfortunately, you just can't copy a whole bunch of sites to the blacklist, or whitelist.
    it's gotta be done one at a time...
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2013
  5. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    There would be a way to add a bunch of domains to be blacklisted/whitelisted at the same time. IE adds those entries in the Registry, which means that with a somewhat basic script you could add them.

    Make a wish and maybe someone with enough knowledge about the Registry portion where IE adds the sites and scripting will create a basic script to do it. Not me, though. :D I'm done using IE. :argh:
     
  6. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    it's a nice and fast browser but there just ain't enough in addons and plugins.
    and even less if you use the Enhanced Protected mode.
    there is no 'Click to Play' for plugins like Chrome and Firefox have.
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2013
  7. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,853
    ActiveX filtering is as close as you'll come for now.
     
  8. safeguy

    safeguy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Posts:
    1,709
    Yeah. Wish they had a "Click to Play" though since it's more obvious when trying to play Flash videos. With ActiveX filtering, it's easier to forget especially when you are in a rush.
     
  9. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    QSIZ is what i used for Years on IE, before i moved over to FF.

    Select from Allow/Prompt/Deny & then it's less than 1 second to click in Real Time whether you enable or disable. q2.png

    q1.png

    You might like this too which i also had.

    Both worked fine with NO issues :thumb:
     
  10. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    tnx for this find Ranger! :thumb:
    i just got it and going to give it a try soon. :)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.