Using FireFox

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by sooflymami, Dec 19, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sooflymami

    sooflymami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Posts:
    361
    I have few questions..

    1. If wanted to go on two different sites at the same time, how do I open another webpage so they will be under the tabs by just using 1 browser?
    2. And where am I supposed to go in order to remember my log in name only? not password or anything else..just the log in name so I wont have to keep putting in my e-mail on hotmail and other sites everytime I open a new browser.
    3. I have IE as my default browser, but where do I go in order to change and make the FF as default?
     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2008
  2. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,981
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  3. virtumonde

    virtumonde Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    501
    In additon to JrViejo useful links i recommand this addon.It should make the transition easier.

    Also when u install FF it has the option to became the default browser.
     
  4. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    Middle clicking a link in the tab bar will open a new tab.Under Tools - Options - Tabs you can tick "When I open a link in a new tab switch to it immediately" if you want that option.

    You can set FF as default through Programs Access and Defaults.

    Under Tools - Options - Security you can untick "Remember passwords for sites".Double left clicking in the login name box should bring up your login name?
     
  5. sooflymami

    sooflymami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Posts:
    361


    What do you mean by check to see if FF is the default browser on start up? does that mean that some message will check and will pop up saying FF is the default browser everytime when I turn on my computer or something?
     
  6. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    Also:

    ctrl + T new tab
    ctrl + W close tab

    and take a look at the New Tab Homepage extension....

    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/777

    philby
     
  7. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    Vista:

    press window key, then type default in the start search field. Its the top entry in the list...

    XP:

    press window key, go to all programs, set program access and defaults

    philby
     
  8. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,981
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    This will explain better than I can: Set Firefox as your default browser and this is from the Visual Guide tutorial link I gave you.
     
  9. sooflymami

    sooflymami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Posts:
    361
    Okay, thank you!
     
  10. sooflymami

    sooflymami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Posts:
    361
    And just for incase for the future, where do I go in order to switch it back to IE?
     
  11. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,981
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Just reverse the process: uncheck Firefox - check IE.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.