Using External USB Hard Drives - TIP

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by snmavronis, Jun 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. snmavronis

    snmavronis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    41
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    Below is a response to Acronis tech support who has be patiently assisting me. This problem faked me out because my system's boot order "appeared" normal at first. It was trying to boot the external USB hard drive first instead of my Server's internal hard drive array. Maybe this will help others and save them grief:

    ---------------->

    I have everything working now. My "Operating System Not Found" error was NOT caused by the Acronis restore.

    It was the HP Proliant ML150G3 BIOS Setup. Under Boot Order it had hard drives before removable media as expected. But hard drives also had a sub-order list showing the Maxtor OneTouch III external USB hard drive in a boot order "before" the HP Smart Array E200/128 RAID Controller. I moved the Maxtor down below the RAID Controller and then it booted into Windows!

    I am able to do a full disk image restore (2 partitions) and afterwards I use the HP Proliant ML150G3 drivers CD to update the system. Right now I am doing another test restore to verify reliability and more practice doesn't hurt either!

    <-----------------

    Note - When changing the sub-boot order list for the hard drive category in BIOS Setup, at first it didn't keep the change when I re-checked. I was moving items back and forth and "Save Settings and Exit" didn't keep it. It seems it likes it better to change one item at a time. Do a "Save without Exiting" and re-check. Then "Save and Exit" when you are done.
     
  2. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    You should have removable media first in the boot order, otherwise you would not be able to boot from a, e.g., CD.
     
  3. snmavronis

    snmavronis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    41
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    I know. That is optional for me either way. I can always hit F7 during the POST screen to select boot device.
     
  4. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Lots of systems come this way. They boot a bit faster which some people like.

    Although they won't boot from a CD or floppy in that case, you can always go into the BIOS and change it when necessary or bring up a boot menu as described.

    Personally, I always do as you say and put the CD drive ahead of the hard drives because under stress, people forget to reset the BIOS and panic.
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello snmavronis,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Sharing your experience is very much appreciated. If you have any further experience to share, please feel free to post it on this forum.

    Thank you for the provided information.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.