Using diskeeper 2008 do you recommend excluding $ISR *.*

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by zoril, Oct 10, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zoril

    zoril Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Posts:
    243
    Hi all:)

    Currently I do exclude $ISR *.* but I wonder if it is really necessary to do so?

    After using Diskeeper 2008 my hard drive is still fairly fragmented mainly due to the exclusion of ISR from defrags. Clearly if it is possible to just run defrags normally excluding nothing, I would definitely get a better fragmentation reading.

    However if it means by doing so that I would mess up ISR, then I will definitely leave things as they are!

    Any replies appreciated,


    Howard (zoril)
     
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,049
    HI Howard

    I am running Ulitimate Defrag with no exclusions, and no problems. I don't think you need to exclude anything anymore.

    Pete
     
  3. zoril

    zoril Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Posts:
    243
    Many thanks Pete:)

    That is indeed good news.

    Howard:)
     
  4. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,049
    The only caveat is don't let diskeeper do anything while you are doing copy/updates. That could cause issues.

    Pete
     
  5. zoril

    zoril Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Posts:
    243
    I'l remember that...Thanks :thumb:
     
  6. Tony

    Tony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Posts:
    722
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    Hi, i have decided to give Ultimate defrag free a try on our desktop computer.

    I have not excluded any files and have chosen the auto selection with default settings.

    Now the defrag has begun, it appears to be moving a large portion of the $ISR to the inner part of the disk.

    Is this normal or is it because i dont use every snapshots as frequently as my primary??
     
  7. Tony

    Tony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Posts:
    722
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    OOps, just realised that in the settings if set to optimum then the most used 22% will be on the outer with the least used on the inner.:oops:

    Any thoughts on these settings or would i be better changing the settings to fast and having all data on the outer disk?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.