User Name or Password not valid

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by karnaaj, Dec 25, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. karnaaj

    karnaaj Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    I recently had a hard drive crash so when I replaced the drive I moved up to Windows 7 from XP. I went to Eset's website to download Smart Security 4 and it won't accept the user name and password Eset sent to me when I bought the program back in October. Any ideas as to what I am doing wrong? thanks
     
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2009
  2. seaotter

    seaotter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    I'm having the same problem. Even though I requested my user name and password be e-mailed to me, cutting and pasting the username and password from the reply does not work.
     
  3. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    did you try typing it in rather than copying and pasting?
     
  4. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
  5. LvR

    LvR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    31
    Well - that doesnt work for the W7 issue.o_O

    I seen, experienced and have gotten around the issue in the past by simply going to a XP box and then using the same user and pw from the same IP, I downloaded what I needed on the XP box.

    There is an issue with the download server and some (all?) W7 installations in that when you want to use the W7 box to download from the Eset server, the user and password gets rejected - even though it is valid and correctly copied and pasted

    I presume the red bit on the screen capture attached is the offending item on my (all?) W7 systems preventing one from downloading from the Eset server using IE8

    http://www.home.telkomsa.net/glad/Images/Untitled.jpg
     
  6. Rmuffler

    Rmuffler Former Eset Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Posts:
    995
    Location:
    San Diego, CA USA
    Hello LvR,

    We do receive the same Win 7 security message but the username and password do not fail, we have not encountered this when testing. What happens after you enter the username and password? Does it give you an error or any kind of message?

    Thank you,
    Richard
     
  7. LvR

    LvR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    31
    http://www.home.telkomsa.net/glad/Images/nod refusal.jpgNo matter what I do this is what I get to on W7 boxes by using copy and paste of the current valid user and passwords as supplied by yourself when I bought. (The user and password is known and confirmed to be valid by Nod's update working properly on the same W7 box)

    If I go to a XP box the exact same user and password is accepted and I can download to my heart's content

    I presume its a security setting or whatever somewhere in W7/IE but I have yet to figure what and where/how. As I said - I gave up and now simply jump on a XP box to download when I need to. If you know how to get around the problem it would be nice to know.
     
  8. Rmuffler

    Rmuffler Former Eset Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Posts:
    995
    Location:
    San Diego, CA USA
    Hello LvR,

    I have seen this error before and the reasons are either due to the UN and PW entered incorrectly or the license is expired. This message appears because our server does not recognize what was entered. Can you please send me a personal message with your username, email and name so that I can look up your account to make sure everything is okay. To send a personal message, click my name and click send a Personal Message to Rmuffler.

    Thank you,
    Richard
     
  9. LvR

    LvR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    31
    Hi Richard

    I think you missed part of my earlier response in this thread.

    There is absolutely nothing wrong with either the us or pw - they are both current and valid as I have been able to confirm when using the same us and pw while on a XP box. I basically copy and paste from your us+pw email I received from you guys. I am aware of how easy it is to slip up with the typing of those so always copy and paste only.

    The inability to download ONLY occurs while on W7 machines here (I have 3 at my personal disposal here). I am aware of a few other people sitting with the same issue, and all of them are using the same solution - ie - going to a XP box and using their same us and pw there to do their download. To me its obviously some setting or security incompatibility with Eset on the W7 machines we run - yes there may be others using W7 to download, but till now I have not been able to figure the correct settings to use on W7 (IE8 on W7?) to download from Eset's servers.............. in fact I don't even know what is and what is not relevant ito download security/authentication at all

    Personal message on its way to you with my us and pw as you guys sent it for you to confirm that its working and valid.
     
  10. Rmuffler

    Rmuffler Former Eset Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Posts:
    995
    Location:
    San Diego, CA USA
    Hello LvR,

    Thank you for sending me the PM. Yes your account is good. I tested your Username and Password using a typical machine with Windows 7 Ultimate. I opened http://www.eset.com/download/home from Internet Explorer 8 and clicked on the ESET Smart Security 4 Home PC download, entered your UN and PW and was able to access the download. The machine that I tested on is running a default out of the box setup. Were there any changes made in your browser settings?

    Thank you,
    Richard
     
  11. LvR

    LvR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    31
    Richard

    No concious security etc changes were made on my W7 boxes that I know of - I installed W7 myself.

    One other thing:

    I have been a long time user and I had to renew my licences recently - could it be that these machines remember (cookie?) the older us+pw and the Eset server flatout refuses to accept changes to a previously validated us+pw that has now expired? .............. or is my machine's IP logged and remembered by the Eset server and possibly associated with the older/previous us+pw and is it therefore refusing anything else I now have to say ito us+pw ...................... reason why I am asking about this is that the Eset server seems to already have the us+pw filled in and completed (looks like my old us+pw?) when I click on that link of yours - I can copy/paste my new us+pw but it keeps resulting in an effectively rejected server logon with no ability to download as a result on the W7 machines
     
  12. Rmuffler

    Rmuffler Former Eset Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Posts:
    995
    Location:
    San Diego, CA USA
    Resetting your browser may work. Even if you didn't specifically go into the settings and change anything there are other ways that your browser could have been altered. Can you try the instructions mentioned within the following Microsoft Knowledge Base article and let me know if it helps:
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/923737

    Thank you,
    Richard
     
  13. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    I noticed in your screen shots that you appear to have Windows Aero disabled (which should not be a problem) and some sort of third-party software applied to your copy of Internet Explorer--at least, that is my guess based on the icons for the buttons and the "Quero" item in the screenshot.

    If you start Internet Explorer without add-ons, does the problem still occur?

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  14. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
  15. LvR

    LvR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    31
    Thanks to all for trying to help.

    I think I solved the mystery:

    1. Quero is not the problem - all the W7 and XP machines run the same and its only the W7 machines that has the download problem.

    2. As an experiment I actually removed Quero altogether and still the problem remains.

    3. Removed all cookies originating from Eset as well as Wilderssecurity and still th problem remained. After this I once again noticed that the Eset server STILL knew and completed my us+pw (now contained my old and expired us+pw) and found that strange.

    Decided this is nonsense and contrary to popular suggestions of one having to copy and paste the us+pw to prevent wrong characters being entered, I sat down and actually typed via the keyboard the us and pw............... and voilà - problem solved.

    Only question now is why is W7 reacting different to XP when using the copy/paste of us+pw .................. but I am not going to break my head about that.

    Simple answer is that if you have an authentification problem with the Eset server rejecting your known to be valid us+pw, type the darn thing and don't copy/past as often suggested.
     
  16. jsday187

    jsday187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Posts:
    3
    Is it possible the source text you copied from had hidden "formatting" characters?

    It's happened to myself before.
     
  17. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I have discovered that NOT using CTRL+C and CTRL+V can cause this issue in Windows7.

    Cheers :D
     
  18. LvR

    LvR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    31
    Comforting indeed!*puppy*
     
  19. pastorbadger

    pastorbadger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Posts:
    1
    So, if I'm reading this thread correctly, there is no consensus on typing the password in directly versus ctrl-C/ctrl-V versus right-click copy/paste. (All failed for me.)

    The only agreement seems to be on Windows 7. mine is a clean/new install of Windows 7 Pro 64-bit. Say, is everyone who's having the problem also on the 64-bit version?

    Since someone pointed out you can download it on an XP machine, I'm going to do just that and then sneakernet it over to the true target machine. I'll post my results.

    This thread has been a real confidence builder.
     
  20. Rmuffler

    Rmuffler Former Eset Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Posts:
    995
    Location:
    San Diego, CA USA
    Hello pastorbadger,

    We have tested on Win 7 64-bit machines without issues. If none of the methods for entering the UN and PW worked then there may be an error with your license. Can you please send me a personal message with your license information, email and name so that I can look you up in our system? To do so, click on my name and select the option to send me a personal message.

    Thank you,
    Richard
     
  21. LvR

    LvR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    31
    The W7 machines in my case are all W7 64 Ultimate jobs.
     
  22. Kitesurfer

    Kitesurfer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4
    I have been following this thread with interest. I am an ESET reseller, and recently a couple of my customers have had the same problem with the Windows 7 credential prompt popping up repeatedly. When they call me for help, I try their credentials from my computer, and they work fine. Interestingly, I too am using Windows 7 so it's not all configurations of Windows 7 that have this issue. However ONLY customers with Windows 7 are experiencing this issue. Yesterday, one such customer did in fact manage to download, but accidentally selected RUN instead of SAVE. When they went to download it again, the credential challenge popup just kept appearing over and over. I have talked them through resetting their stored credentials, deleting all IE temp files/cookies etc with no luck. If only it would happen on MY machine too, I could try to find a solution. Please ESET, I know this is a tricky one because it seems to be so inconsistent, but I think it's worth perservering with.

    One user has tried both manually (very very carefully) typing in both the username and password AND the copy + paste method, and both seemed to fail. Alas these users are interstate, otherwise I would like to try it on their computer myself to make sure they're really entering the details correctly.
     
  23. Kitesurfer

    Kitesurfer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4
    Another thought: If someone here has access to the eset download server logs, or at least has access to someone who has access, it would be worth finding out if the username and password was actually getting sent, or whether the failed credential challenge is happening "prematurely". If it is getting sent, it should be easy enough to see what characters are coming down the line as I don't believe they're encrypted (according to the Windows 7 challenge dialog box).
     
  24. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,376
    Please PM me the username/password and let me know what product the client has actually installed. I'll check it out myself or ask you for the client's product configuration exported to an xml if no problems with the license are found.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.