USE A WINDOWS 7 File ON WINDOWS XP(AceMoney)

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by TerryWood, Oct 27, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    703
    Hi

    Need some help please.

    I have a program on my Win 7 computer, AceMoney, which I need to have a fully working backup on another PC. In this case, a Win XP laptop.

    The file(s) are located on Win 7 in Users\UserName\AppData\AceMoney

    Until recently I used to be able to copy them over to my Laptop using a flash drive and the files worked perfectly. Now I get a message saying:

    "This file was created on a different computer with a security level. To share this file with another user, it needs to be re-saved on the original computer with "permit access by multiple users" option in the Set Password settings.

    1) I don't understand how or why there has been a change to my computers settings such that I cannot use a file on my laptop

    2) I haven't got a clue as to what the above message means or how to go about changing the settings.

    Anybody help please.

    Thanks

    Terry
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
  3. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,564
    Re: USE A WINDOWS 7 File ON WINDOWS XP

    Hi Terry,

    It could very well be a problem with AceMoney v4.20+, I'm afraid.

    Have a look at the thread started by OZO at the DSLR software forum:
    AceMoney - be careful with v4.20+ data file
    http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r27600120-AceMoney-be-careful-with-v4.20-data-file

    I don't use AceMoney, but from what I have read in that thread things seem to be not so good with AceMoney v4.20+. Anybody should be warned about the issues raised in that thread!
     
  4. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    703
    Re: USE A WINDOWS 7 File ON WINDOWS XP

    Hi Cudni & Fanj

    I want to say a heartfelt thanks to both of you for your help.

    Fanj was right on the button. Fortunately, I was able to follow the instructions in the thread provided by Fanj and am now up and running on both computers.

    What a mess for those people who lost data!! I was completely unaware of the problem.

    Many thanks again

    Terry
     
  5. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,564
    Re: USE A WINDOWS 7 File ON WINDOWS XP

    Hi Terry,

    You're most welcome.
    I'm glad that you could fix it!

    ===

    Now that we know that it was indeed that AceMoney issue, I wonder whether it would be wise to change the thread title (just to raise the attention of others who might also be confronted with it, before it is too late).
    I have to leave that decision to the mods/admins ;)
     
  6. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,564
    Thanks to the staff for changing the thread title :thumb:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.