UPS for my PC

Discussion in 'hardware' started by PiCo, Dec 26, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PiCo

    PiCo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Posts:
    352
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    Hello gentlemen!

    I want to buy a UPS for my PC cause the electricity company in Greece is crap. Anyway, my PC has a PSU of 450 W, so this means I should be looking for a UPS of:
    450-500 W and 700-800 VA?

    I'm asking this cause I found one UPS with 360 W power output, but I thought "how could this assist me since my PSU is 450 W > 360 W?"
    Or is this irrelevant?

    I don't want to buy a UPS that will fail to keep my PC alive!

    Thanx for any answers :)
    Mike
     
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,042
    Hi Pico

    I did two things. First I have some high quality Filters ahead of the UPS's. The filters in most UPS, aren't very good. Then my UPS, are twice the size of the PSU spec's. That way they can handle accessaries, and give me plenty of time to close down if necessary.

    Pete
     
  3. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
  4. PiCo

    PiCo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Posts:
    352
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    It's true, UPS offer good protection in regural conditions, but most of them can't protect you from a lightning.
    A lightning would go all the way to the mobo :p

    It helped a lot, it gave me 3 results which ranged from 400 W to 700 W and 600 VA to 1000 VA. So I know what values I should look for.

    APC is very expensive thought, I'm thinking of buying this beauty: AccuPower UPS 800VA.
    It promises 8 to 30 min autonomy, I would only need about 2-3 :)
     
  5. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    I chose my UPS from APC. Looks like you already know to take your spec into consideration. If I could give you a recommendation it would be to buy one with alot of outlets and surge protection.
     
  6. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
    My second UPS from APC here.
    After 3 years the battery needed replacing in the first one so for an extra 40 bucks (40 more then the price of a new battery) I upgraded from the xs800 to the xs1300 (got it on sale)

    And a very good recommendation that is :thumb:

    I have everything that has anything to do with my pc connected to this with room for much more.

    2008-12-27_100843.png

    But of course price is always a factor. Search around for a deal, that's what I did. :D
     
  7. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,042
    I would agree buy at the best price, but I also have had excellent success with APC. Buying an unknown to save money when you are trying to protect expensive hardware, might not be the most cost effective solution.
     
  8. mjgent

    mjgent Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Posts:
    43
    Location:
    Sandboxed in a VM behind a UTM
    APC smart ups 1000 here for a few years and never had a problem. :thumb: It has worked great even through the summer monsoons where we get a lot of lightning and power outages around here.
     
  9. PiCo

    PiCo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Posts:
    352
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    I think we can all agree that APC is top notch, in fact I have a friend that says it's quality is from another planet :p

    I should have told you that untill 2-3 years ago I had been using a PCM -powercom UPS which consisted of a single 12V 7.5AH battery.
    I had changed the battery about 4 times drom 1995, when we first got the UPS.

    The reason I'm not using it anymore is that it developed some sort of leak and battery would become dead after 6 months or so. So I couldn't risk it, although in its good times it was able to support my system up to 5 mins :)
    Bad thing is I couldn't find anywhere its outuput power on Watts and VA.

    Anyway, AccuPower is a german company, so it should be reliable. Things I'm converned of are:
    1)If it includes a fan
    2)If it is noisy
    3)If the software runs on Vista

    I shall go to a store and check one that is in use :)
     
  10. innerpeace

    innerpeace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,095
    Location:
    Mountaineer Country
    Another thing to consider is if your PSU has Active Power Factor Correction. I have an 540 watt APC UPS but the model I have may not support a PSU of let's say 520watts if it has Active Power Factor Correction.

    Here is a short thread I started on APC forums that gives a link to an article about Active PFC. Whatever model you select, I would ask in the companies forum or a qualified tech if your PSU will work with your UPS.
    http://www.apc-forums.com/thread.jspa?threadID=2657&tstart=30
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2008
  11. PiCo

    PiCo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Posts:
    352
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
  12. pugmug

    pugmug Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Posts:
    413
    Don't know,can't read it.Lol
     
  13. PiCo

    PiCo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Posts:
    352
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2009
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.