upload problems with v4

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by grib78, Jul 6, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. grib78

    grib78 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Posts:
    7
    Hello,

    I have a problem with version 4 of Eset Smart Security or Nod32 antivirus : with the default settings, upload of files on web services such as mobileme or dropbox are impossible.
    I downgraded on v3 (ESS or Nod32 antivirus),with default settings, and now all is fine.

    Is anybody having the same problems? Is ESET aware of the problem?

    Bye
     
  2. peterhews

    peterhews Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    Yep, I can confirm I have the same problem with version 4. I use A-Drive to upload photos and Eset 4 cripples the PC and the upload. Any other PC on the network is unable to browse the internet. The new version 4.0.437 is better than the last 4 series but still causes problems. I can confirm returning to version 3 rectifies the problem. I have posted about this problem some time ago on this forum but no joy was forthcoming!
     
  3. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    if you disable web access protection does it work better? how are you connected to the net if one pc upload blocks the other?
     
  4. grib78

    grib78 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Posts:
    7
    I disabled the web access protection and I noticed no change. The only solution is to downgrade to v3 o_O
     
  5. robis

    robis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Posts:
    149
    Hi

    yes I have same problem

    for me I cant use ESSET SS 4 with - network limiter (or similar program), or with assus driver for configuring asus WL-500W routers

    what system do you have I have Vista 64b

    Try found witch program is "NOT COMPATIBLE" with eset or use v3
     
  6. MasterTB

    MasterTB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Posts:
    547
    Location:
    Paran?, Argentina
    The problem is also present when uploading photos to the internet in the Opera Community using their new Flash Uploader.
    If you put several files in the queue, it shows a 100% progress for the first file and the freezes as ESS takes over the upload making your browser crash most of the times because the loss of control over the transfer.
    What I don't understand is why would Eset do this when you're "uploading" a file that sits in "your" computer and has been checked by Eset already... what's the danger in that?
    I mean, I can understand that kind of behavior if you have your browsers in active mode on ESS and it controls the downloads, but if that is not the case, why mess with the uploads as well?
     
  7. WayneP

    WayneP Support Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Posts:
    339
    If you set the firewall mode to Learning Mode are you able to upload filen then?
     
  8. grib78

    grib78 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Posts:
    7
    The problem is occurring with every Mode. I tried all possible configuration and the only solution is to downgrade to v3.

    I am sure the problaim comes from the antivirus module since the same problem is occurring with nod32 v4 and without any firewall. I disabled the web protection, modified all possible parameters : always this problem. And with nod32 v3 : problem.

    To summarize:
    Eset Smart Security Suite V4: unable to upload
    Eset Smart Security Suite V3: able to upload
    nod 32 antivirus V4 and no firewall: unable to upload
    nod 32 antivirus V3 and no firewall: able to upload
    :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

    I think that if this problem is not setup I will go back to Kaspersky :D
     
  9. Brambb

    Brambb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I dont have any problems uploading files to my Dropbox with the dropbox folder or with use of the dropbox website (with Opera).

    Same with MyOpera photo uploading, normal behaviour.

    using NOD32 EAV v4, default settings.
     
  10. MasterTB

    MasterTB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Posts:
    547
    Location:
    Paran?, Argentina
    But you are using EAV and I am using ESS... maybe the problem is with The firewall (again) and not the AV.
     
  11. Brambb

    Brambb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Well grib78 stated he also had the problem with EAV v4, im just saying I dont.
     
  12. grib78

    grib78 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Posts:
    7
    Do you use the latest version of eav v4 ?
    I really don't understand the behavior of these softwares o_O
     
  13. Brambb

    Brambb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Yes, it is the latest version available, running on Vista x64. There might be a conflict with other software installed. I dont have any other security program installed beside the Windows Firewall (disabled Windows Defender).
     
  14. grib78

    grib78 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Posts:
    7
    I am running Vista 32 bits, maybe the problem stands here. I do not have special softwares installed on my computer, and disabled too Windows defender.
     
  15. grib78

    grib78 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Posts:
    7
    Ok, I performed a lot of tests and here are the results:

    Eset Smart security suite v4 : 0 ko/s in upload ! :mad:
    EAV v4 + free Comodo firewall : 0 ko/s in upload ! :mad:
    Eset Smart security suite v3 : 40 ko/s in upload
    EAV v3 + free Comodo firewall : 40 ko/s in upload
    Antivir free + free Comodo firewall : 100 ko/s in upload :)

    Guess what ? I know use free protection for my pc and have better rates...

    If anyone has an idea, I am open!
     
  16. Mice007

    Mice007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    The problem is exists here too... with firewall enabled in ESET I cannot upload to mobileme at all, and also it works badly with youtube.

    It is ESET Smart Security 4.... and on Vista x64
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2009
  17. WayneP

    WayneP Support Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Posts:
    339
    Try the things listed in the Knowledgebase article located here.

    One other thing to try is to uncheck Block unsafe address after attack detection, located in the IDS and advanced options section.
     
  18. Mice007

    Mice007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    I think this is a wrong track about solving the problem. I even tried to exclude domain (*me.com*) from filtering or adding it to allowed sites..etc but nothing changes.

     
  19. MasterTB

    MasterTB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Posts:
    547
    Location:
    Paran?, Argentina
    Well I got tired of waiting, and have now removed ESS from my machine.
    After that, I installed Microsoft Security Essentials and enabled the Windows Firewall, and I'm uploading photos to My Opera Community with no trouble at all.
    I even see the percentage on every uploaded photo and there are no crashes or freezes from the browser.
    I really hope they fix this because I really liked ESS but I cannot live hostage to what I can or cannot do on my machine depending on my AV. I rather have a virus once in a while than not being able to do what ever I want to do.

    PS my license is still valid for a whole year so that's how much I will wait for Eset to get the game right.
     
  20. MasterTB

    MasterTB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Posts:
    547
    Location:
    Paran?, Argentina
    Any updates on the upload issue?
    Does the new firewall module changes ESS's behavior on uploads?
     
  21. reevesloh

    reevesloh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Posts:
    160
    Does this mean we cannot download a file?So far me use ESS4 with latest mozzilla firefox n i didn't have a problem with that and i put my advanced mode setting all do default..
     
  22. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    I've uploaded a larger photo to My Opera fine with Vista SP2. ESS 4.0.437 was installed and all modules and firewall enabled.

    Does disabling HTTP checking make a difference? If so, we'll need you to create a log from Wireshark with the HTTP communication captured for perusal. Let me know and I'll drop you a PM.
     
  23. alex_stanhope

    alex_stanhope Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    I had what I think was exactly the same issue. When uploading content over HTTP, using either a web browser to YouTube or Dropbox client to Dropbox's Amazon EC2 servers, I experienced:

    long ping times (1500-3000ms)
    packet loss
    massive corresponding net traffic usage (1MB file took about 100MB to upload)

    I traced the problem to a security feature on ESET's NOD32 v4.0.467.0 for Windows 7. I can confirm that unchecking "Enable HTTP checking" in "Advanced Setup -> Web access protection -> HTTP, HTTPS" pretty much sorts the problem out. I've blogged about it here:

    http://www.alexstanhope.com/blog/technology/140/windows-7-high-ping-times
     
  24. robis

    robis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Posts:
    149
    if somebody try 4.2.22 then let me know if it is ok? for now i do not have time and nerve :)
     
  25. jazzy639

    jazzy639 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Posts:
    31
    I have the EXACT same problem. Only its taken me two weeks to figure it out... A new modem from the ISP and a new router didnt solve it.

    I'm using Live Mesh and when its turned off, everything works.

    I disabled the Web Access Protection however it's not solved the problem. I then upgraded to NOD32 4.2, didnt solve it. I then went on to uninstall NOD32 4.2, still didn't solve it.

    Any ideas?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.