Upgrade question...

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by emperordarius, Aug 31, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    I'm planning to buy a new laptop soon. I can't understand something.
    I'm getting a customized HP laptop, and, in the OS selection options, it says:
    I want Vista business, but what does Upgrade mean? That the Laptop will have a Home premium Vista pre-installed and I will have the possibility to upgrade to Business, or that Business will be pre-installed.o_O

    I've seen this also on other laptop website but couldnt't quite understand it. Thanks in advance
     
  2. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    You will probably get home premium 32 bit as this is the commonest.You can upgrade by clicking contol panel>windows anytime upgrade which takes you to this site and allows you to compare ,upgrade etc.The ultimate edition includes the buisness edition and more..
    http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windows-vista/compare-editions/default.aspx

    ellison
     
  3. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    Thank you. But I don't want Ultimate, I don't need most of Ultimate's features, and I don't want it 64 bit(there's not 32 bit available).
    Another question. Is Upgrading to Business easy and fast? I mean, no reinstalling of everything?
     
  4. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    I could be wrong but i think theres a 32 bit and 64bit available in ultimate edition.Anyhow im not sure how painless it is to upgrade ,as ive never done it.However it "looks" as if there wouldnt be any problems providing the pc you are buying has the system requirements such as the recommended ram ,etc.
    ellison
     
  5. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    Yes but still I don't need dvd maker, media center and backup and the other "extras".

    This pc will have the requirements for sure, in fact I'm buying a powerful one.
    Thank you for you help.

    Edit:I googled some more and it looks like it has a Business upgrade DVD...
     
  6. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
  7. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    The hp page doesn't load now, fortunately I saved a screenshot.
    When I pressed "Help me decide" it said that if I decided the option that OS would be preinstalled. But if it is so why is it called "Upgrade"?

    2.JPG
     
  8. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    It seems that if you are just buying the OS you can choose which vista you want pre installed,so i guess if you choose the business for $100 then you would receive your pc with that already on.From what ive read though ,if you choose either basic or premim ,you wont be able to upgrade to business...only ultimate.
    ellison
     
  9. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    So they call it "upgrade" because they consider Business and Ultimate "Superior"?:D
     
  10. Mister_Al

    Mister_Al Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    Posts:
    28
    Vista Home Premium with Service Pack 1 is 'included' in the purchase price which should mean that it comes as the usual OS for your computer. But, if you want Vista Business with Service Pack 1 you can have it instead for an additional $100 since it is considered an 'upgrade' from the Vista Home Premium that would come standard on your computer.

    I have Vista Ultimate and it does come in 32 bit and 64 bit disks

    Alan
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2008
  11. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    I don't know about business, but ultimate is superior in certain areas. I'd say the upgrade simply means you'll get business instead of home premium. Unless you specifically need the added benefits of business you may as well save some $ and just get home premium.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.