Updating to v4.0.467

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by devolic, Oct 8, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. devolic

    devolic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Posts:
    40
    Location:
    Detroit, MI. (USA)
    I installed the trial and it is 4.0.437.0, I have bought the product.

    (1) How do I upgrade and keep my fire wall settings? Do I just uninstall through the add/remove in windows. Or do I just install the new version over it?

    (2) I am having problems connecting with AIM 6. What should I do to fix it? I didn't have the problem before.

    Thank-You,
    Doug
     
  2. cssoz

    cssoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Posts:
    79
    For the firewall settings wait for more replies on that.

    1.) it is recommended that you uninstall your current version of NOD32, prior to your upgrade.

    2.) do not, i mean do not over it NOD32

    3.) AIM 6 issue should be fix once you install the new build of NOD32 due to few improvements which many people who had been experiencing problems with variety of programs, they are now fixed or no longer have any issues.

    Good luck & NOD32 > all
     
  3. devolic

    devolic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Posts:
    40
    Location:
    Detroit, MI. (USA)
    (1) Do I need to back up my Black/White lists, or will it ask me before I uninstall the product?

    (2) Do I need to export my current settings or will it ask me?
     
  4. stackz

    stackz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Posts:
    619
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    You'll need to manually export all settings before uninstallation, then import them back into the newly installed version.
     
  5. devolic

    devolic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Posts:
    40
    Location:
    Detroit, MI. (USA)
    What about my e-mail lists do I need to save them also?
     
  6. stratoc

    stratoc Guest

    they recommend a clean install, you cant export all of the settings i have upgraded many over the top of old, when it asks you to keep current setting press yes. i have never known of any problems doing it this way. the icon will turn orange advising you to reboot your system afterwards, this will keep all you settings.
     
  7. devolic

    devolic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Posts:
    40
    Location:
    Detroit, MI. (USA)
    Looking at the XML file that I exported it already contains my black/white lists. Should I still backup the ekrnSmonBL.dat and the ekrnSmonWL.dat files and import them again after installation?
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2009
  8. devolic

    devolic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Posts:
    40
    Location:
    Detroit, MI. (USA)
    So should I?
     
  9. cssoz

    cssoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Posts:
    79
    i would say yes
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.