Updating over a network with XP & how to update to version 2

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Computer Answers, Jun 16, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Computer Answers

    Computer Answers Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    Posts:
    19
    Hi all
    I'm a NOD reseller in Australia and new to this forum. I have 2 questions.
    1. When updating over a network with XP I have chosen to use the "current user" option in setup but I still get a dialog asking should I change user to update, Any answer but "NO" will not work. As I am not changing users surely I should not get this dialog. Is this a bug or am I doing something wrong?
    2. Do my customers have to do anthing special to update to version 2 or will they be offered the update when they go to update the database?
     
  2. sig

    sig Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    716
    Cam't help you on the first question.

    As for your second quesion, if your customers are using NOD 1 I believe they have to go to the Eset site to download and install version 2. (Some version 2 Beta testers said they had an automatic update to the final but Eset said they didn't want to force downloads of NOD 2 on users of version 1.)

    Eset also said one can install 2 right over version 1 but of course it's up to the user if they want to do a clean install or not.
     
  3. jan

    jan Former Eset Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Posts:
    804
    Hi CA, :)

    1. Does it work with the System account?

    2. As sig wrote, the users can download the v2 from here. They can install over v1 - or do a clean install - it's really up to them. The reinstallation instructions are on the download page.

    Good luck! :)

    jan
     
  4. Computer Answers

    Computer Answers Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    Posts:
    19
    Thanks jan, No - system account option gives server connect failure message but I didn't have domain and user and password set. I was trying to get away from all that rubbish as it was in V1

    Bill
    Computer Answers
     
  5. jan

    jan Former Eset Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Posts:
    804
    >I was trying to get away from all that rubbish as it was in V1

    Try to use the new feature of v2 - the HTTP update method (you should get rid of the old problems :) ):

    HTTP update method from the NOD32 mirror:
    -----------------------------------------

    you can also try a new feature of the Beta5 which should make the update
    easier. The machine that is creating a mirror can act as a Webserver for the
    clients geeting the update. The setup is as follows:

    THE MACHINE THAT CREATES THE MIRROR:

    - install the NOD32 v2 Administrator version for the appropriate OS
    - go to Update>Mirror>Setup
    - check the box "Create Update mirror"
    - check the box "Enable access to files via HTTP protocol"
    - the HTTP port used can be changed in in the Update>Mirror>Setup>Advanced
    section (it is strongly recommended to use the default port 8081)
    - use a local folder (on the mirror creating machine) in the "Update mirror
    folder" field
    - continue crating mirror as usual

    THE MACHINE THAT UPDATES FROM THE MIRROR

    - in the Update>Update>Setup>Servers a new server needs to be added by
    pressing the Add button and entering the server in the following form:

    http://name-of-the-server:HTTP-port-number (default 8081)

    Good luck! :)

    jan
     
  6. Computer Answers

    Computer Answers Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    Posts:
    19
    Thanks Jan. I'll give that a try
     
  7. Computer Answers

    Computer Answers Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    Posts:
    19
    The http option worked a treat. Thanks Jan for your help :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.