updates downloading error

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by abyz, Feb 24, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. abyz

    abyz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Posts:
    3
    i beg the indulgence of the group if this has been brought out and resolved already.
    i have been a contented user of spywareguard and spywareblaster for months already. i never had any problem downloading the updates.
    yesterday though, i began receiving this error message (attached).
    i uninstalled and re-installed the programs but i still cannot download the updates and continued to receive the error message.
    would appreciate any assistance.
    many thanks


    Cut off the white - Pieter
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,332
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi abyz,

    Since you are having the same issue with SpywareBlaster and the server is available, it leads me to believe you must have changed something since you last updated succesfully.
    Anything come to mind?

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  3. abyz

    abyz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Posts:
    3
    hi Pieter.
    many thanks to your reply
    i think they (network admin) did something to our firewall. i suspected that to be the reason for these errors but they denied changing the settings. they blamed it to an unnamed/undetected virus. i did many sweeps using norton, trend micro and mcaffee (all updated virus definitions) and my computer turns out clean everytime.
    in which parameter of the firewall setting could have caused this error?
     
  4. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,332
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi abyz,

    Can you try this:

    "I would like to perform manual updates - is there a way I can do so?"

    Yes there is - simply download the following four files and overwrite the ones currently in your SpywareBlaster directory (C:\Program Files\SpywareBlaster by default):

    http://www.javacoolsoftware.com/spywareblaster/sbdatabase.dtb
    http://www.javacoolsoftware.com/spywareblaster/sbdatabase2.dtb
    http://www.javacoolsoftware.com/spywareblaster/sbinfo.dtb
    http://www.javacoolsoftware.com/spywareblaster/ckdatabase.dtb

    If that works, I can find you a similar method for SpywareGuard.
    I'm no good at firewalls, so I'll leave that part of the question to one of the specialists.

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  5. dangitall

    dangitall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Posts:
    430
    Location:
    New Hamster, USA
    I know that I would like to see the 'manual update' info for SpywareGuard. Using the UPDATE button from within SG doesn't seem to be working for me, so I need something.

    The error message I get when trying to update from within SG reads 'There was an error downloading updates/The last working definitions have been loaded from backups'

    Thanks.
     
  6. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,877
    Location:
    New England
  7. dangitall

    dangitall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Posts:
    430
    Location:
    New Hamster, USA
    Thank you VERY much! I managed to grab the updates using the 'Save Target As ...' method and will later try what the original poster ended up doing: disabling my accelerator (in my case, Webrunner).
    Thanks again!
     
  8. Yabbie

    Yabbie Guest

    Hi,
    I'm getting the same download problem from my home PC.
    I'm not aware of anything changing network-wise. SG update works fine but SB give error message.
    I have tried uninstalling, sweeping registry, reinstall. Same message.
    Steve
     
  9. abyz

    abyz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Posts:
    3
    Many thanks again Pieter :D.
    It worked. I read about the manual downloading thing in the other posts but didnt know how to go on with it.
    Many thanks LowWater Mark :D for the links on how to do it.
    More power guys!

    Regards and cheers to everybody!

    abyz :)
     
  10. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,877
    Location:
    New England
    Hi Steve,

    SpywareBlaster does have various download configuration settings you can adjust, have you tried those to see if one will work for you? Open SpywareBlaster and hit the "Settings" button...

    [​IMG]

    You can set direct connection, like in the image, or either of the two options below it depending upon what type of connection you have and if there is a proxy involved. Also, you can check the "Use Alternative Download Method" option with any of those settings. If you haven't tried adjust these, give it a try.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.