Update/upgrade misfire... or SOMEthing.

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by SteelyDon, Oct 26, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SteelyDon

    SteelyDon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Posts:
    81
    Location:
    Southern Ontario
    I have NOD set up to ask first before updating the daily [or whatever] database. Just now I fired up the computer, and NOD asked; I didn't read the thing carefully, it was just the usual thing, I thought, so I said yes. After a couple of minutes, I got curious and looked at the download dialogue box, and it said that I had some 50 minutes to go, and had downloaded 4% !!!!!!!!!

    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I'm on dial up, but even so.......

    Not wanting to wait an hour, and figuring it was a major version update, I cancelled the update and got out. A few minutes later, out of curiosity, I tried the manual update, and it said that my version is up to date, no update is necessary.

    OK........ any theories? o_O

    Thanks very much.
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    63,536
    Location:
    Texas
    The update was 3325 kb. Large.
     
  3. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,511
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Wonder why so Large? :rolleyes:
     
  4. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,661
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    I've got machines that are not getting the update immediately, I'm getting checks coming back that no update is needed, only I know it's not been downloaded... I'm guessing load of the 3mb+ download is considerable...
     
  5. SteelyDon

    SteelyDon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Posts:
    81
    Location:
    Southern Ontario
    Yes, that sounds right. I tried again, and it loaded, took only a few minutes.
    Must be a major re-write.

    Thanks
     
  6. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    8,053
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    I heard this update was released for detection of variants of various malware.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.