Update unable to finish

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security v4 Beta Forum' started by exglade, Nov 23, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. exglade

    exglade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Posts:
    15
    Hi :D Newbie here. I meant by new to forums. I read Wilders Security Forums almost everyday but never register until I have this silly problem with ESET update.

    I have been using ESET Smart Security 4 beta since it release quite a while. Okay ;) So my problem is... The update can never be finished. It can update but the download were slow as a snail, time left long as the Great Wall. Until a certain time, the download will be cancel automatically and failed. The update I downloading is 13MB large.

    I just degrade back to v3, the download is as smooth as the river flow. Any suggestions or techniques worth to try?

    Awaiting reply :D
     
  2. MasterTB

    MasterTB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Posts:
    547
    Location:
    Paran?, Argentina
    Wel first of all: Welcome to the forum.
    Now a little more info would be great, such as what OS you're running and if you uninstalled a previous verison of ESS before installing Beta 4 or installed it right over v3 (it is recomended to uninstall older versions first). Also, I don't know if you did but you don't have to change username and password for the updates, Marcos has advised that Beta 4 uses their own servers and updates (it is a Beta).
     
  3. s4u

    s4u Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Posts:
    441
    What are the password and username you are using? That might be the problem
     
  4. exglade

    exglade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Posts:
    15
    Ok, here's the info you requested. I am using Windows XP Service Pack 3. I tried both way, uninstall ESS and reinstall and overlay installation. Nothing work. The username and password is updv4 and ****** (lol, I dunno that :D ) respectively.

    The update download is very slow and get a timeout after a while even though the progress bar still moving. Weird huh? o_O
     
  5. s4u

    s4u Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Posts:
    441
    Strange indeed. Username and password seems to be fine. Are you behind a proxy?
     
  6. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    What country are you from? What's your download speed?
     
  7. exglade

    exglade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Posts:
    15
    Come from Malaysia. Download speed is 700+kb/s. Download still very fine on ESS3.
     
  8. idian

    idian Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    Same here, i done the same thing as exglade.
    I uninstalled version 3, reboot the PC, install version 4Beta, reboot again and go to update. I did not change anything on the userid and password, but donwload is sooo slow and time out.

    Finally i gave up and unistalled it ang got back to version 3.

    Anyone have any idea why ?
    Thanks
     
  9. MasterTB

    MasterTB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Posts:
    547
    Location:
    Paran?, Argentina
    Could you enable logging on the firewall and see if there is any connections problem while you try to update??
    Also, in the connections view of your ESS, while updating try to see what adress it is conecting to retrieve the update, perhaps there is a server problem in your area or a conflict with your ISP?
     
  10. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    Can you tell us a little more about your network connection, such as the type of connection (cable, ADSL and so forth), the brand and model of Internet access device (modem) being used and how your computer connects to it? Knowing the answers to those questions may be helpful in solving the problem.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky


     
  11. exglade

    exglade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Posts:
    15
    It connect through a router, Belkin F5D7632ak4A. The ISP is TMNet Streamyx (kinda crappy) and it's ADSL type.
     
  12. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    Did you have any other programs running that access the Internet at the same time ESET Smart Security was attempting to download signatures, in particular any kind of application which might perform many network connections?

    Have you tried using a different ADSL modem (if you have one)? If so, did that make a difference?

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  13. exglade

    exglade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Posts:
    15
    Does it have anyting to do with ADSL? Because it work for ESS3 smoothly and fast but ESS4 slow.
     
  14. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    Eh, you are really comparing something that can't be compared. The initial updates are not the same size between different versions of the product. If your connectivity sucks, you can well get into trouble with the initial big update, but won't have any such issue with the following ones which are much smaller.
     
  15. exglade

    exglade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Posts:
    15
    I... don't understand what you mean...
     
  16. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    Hmmm, what exactly you don't understand? Downloading a 13MB update doesn't take the same time like downloading a 130kB update, the former may well timeout on a sucky, slow and/or unreliable connection.
     
  17. CivilTaz

    CivilTaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Posts:
    146
    He said he didn't have that problem with ESS3, when u install it, it downloads a large initial update too, so why don't u read carefully and try to understand the issue before blaming his connection.
     
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2008
  18. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    I've already answer this once, so perhaps you might follow your original advise... The updates are NOT the same size, really so hard to understand or what?
     
  19. CivilTaz

    CivilTaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Posts:
    146
    Whatever :isay:
     
  20. exglade

    exglade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Posts:
    15
    Actually on my ESS3, the download are really much faster. Last time, the ESS4 somehow downloading a 5MB update very slow. I reinstall ESS3, there's an update about the same size but faster a lot. ESS3 finish in a blink, ESS4 can't finish any of the update.
     
  21. CivilTaz

    CivilTaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Posts:
    146
    I hope doktornotor can understand this.
     
  22. exglade

    exglade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Posts:
    15
    Alright... It's long enough. I think I will reinstall ESS4 and try again.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.