Update Issue?

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by Capp, Jul 29, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. graywolf202

    graywolf202 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Update was stuck at 3317.:'(

    Solution:

    Go to /Setup/
    Go to /Update/
    On /Update Server/ select "Choose Automatically"

    Now updated to 3343.:D

    [Apparently, someone changed the update server from http://u35.eset.com/eset_eval into something else without telling everyone else.]

    [Check on /Tools/Log files/Events/. If there are entries on "Update" -- "Server not found", then the above solution might work.]
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2008
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    This happens when a crack is run. It changes the default location to another one from which updates are not possible.
     
  3. fan

    fan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Posts:
    11
    I am NOT running cracks or anything else, i dont even know where i can get them and i dont really care about that but i want to know why this happened.
    anyway if you want a proof that my ess is legit here you go:
    http://i38.tinypic.com/2943yc1.jpg
     
  4. graywolf202

    graywolf202 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    @fan: what's the entry on your /Log Files/ under /Events/? It would be really great if you could tell us what it says; makes diagnosis easier.:)
     
  5. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    Hi fan,
    unfortunately, the window does not show what update servers are used to download updates. Please export the ESET registry key to a file and convey it to me as I asked you in a PM several days ago. Without analysing your configuration, it's impossible for me to tell why updates don't work for you.
     
  6. zaintz

    zaintz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    Hi Marcos .

    I have a problem with updating .

    It keeps saying that my username and password are incorrect . But I have tried many times to type or copy the right user and password . Though it didn't work .

    This my username :

    I have contacted the support center but it takes too long to respond my issue .

    Can you tell me what extractly wrong here ? :ouch:

    Edit: removed username as it's a sensitive information, even though useless without the appropriate password. Please send login details only in a PM when requested by a moderator.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 11, 2008
  7. Kayracc

    Kayracc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Posts:
    96
    Delete your username from here, while noone can really do much with just your username it's probably not the best idea :)

    -Brian
     
  8. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    Hi Zaintz,
    I have asked my colleagues from the US to follow up. I will send you a temporary username and password so that you can update in the mean time.
     
  9. zaintz

    zaintz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    I have updated with your temp user alr .

    I really appreciate that . XD

    tyvm , Marcos .
     
  10. Shankle

    Shankle Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Posts:
    515
    I've read all this and I feel that a lot of the problems are created by the users. Most people have no idea what they are doing and blame ESET for their problems.

    I've been using ESET for years and have no problems whatsoever with ESS. I'm up to date and everythings working as it should be. Of course I'm a fanatic about security and have a whole plethora of goodies to protect by Puter. If you are not doing this and arbitrarily mix matching programs, then yes you are going to have no end of problems.
     
  11. fan

    fan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Posts:
    11
    Hi marcos,
    like i said i dont have any pm's in my box.
    Code:
    Welcome, fan.
    You last visited: Today at 01:21 AM
    Private Messages: Unread 0, Total 0.
    The problem is now fixed but I was just curious why this happened.
     
  12. newbie2247

    newbie2247 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Posts:
    199
    Every time I upgrade my ESET Smart Security to the latest version it does crazy, often destructive things to my programs and their settings. Why is this?

    One example of this is it wiped out my Thunderbird and Foxfire configs. and content. I actually lost my mail and address book.

    Could someone please help as I feel it is important to keep current with ESET but I have to spend a day or 2 repairing the damage and grieve over all that I lost? :'(

    Thanks.
     
  13. Shankle

    Shankle Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Posts:
    515
    When I upgraded from NOD32 to ESS I disconnected myself from the internet and disabled all of my security programs.
    I was running Thunderbird and K-melion. I did not lose any email or anything else. When done I reenabled all the security programs before going back on the internet.
    I also run regularily Ccleaner, Registry Mechanic and Windows Update.
    Don't know if any of this will help but it worked for me.
     
  14. newbie2247

    newbie2247 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Posts:
    199
    Re: Update Issue DEVASTATION

    Thanks. Sound ideas but not at all the kind of help I need. I'm glad you upgraded from Nod32 to ESET. Great software but unfortunately, it still is buggy as you can see from the devastation it does to me every time I upgrade my version number to the newest release.

    What am I going to do? I have to stay current but I can't endure the losses.

    Please help me. :(
     
  15. astroth

    astroth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    Well upon doing some more trouble shooting, it seems original trial installer I downloaded was messed up or so it appeared

    So I'm going to spend the next few days going through the systems and doing clean up work to hopefully resolve this problem.

    Marcos I got your message and should I still have trouble after making sure I've clean up everything and make sure the installers didn't get corrupted during download
     
  16. Shankle

    Shankle Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Posts:
    515
    This is directed to Newbie2247.
    Maybe if you gave us a list of the mix on your Puter someone could help you.
    IMO problems of this sort are caused by conflicting programs, a bad security regime, viruses in your Puter that have not been resolved, settings of various programs that are conflicting etc.
    Like I have said before I have no problems with ESET.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.