Update Issue?

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by Capp, Jul 29, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cinek

    cinek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Posts:
    20
    lol it's still telling me that my username + pass is incorrect :O but when I update manually - it works :S
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    Couldn't it be that you have fiddled around the default update task after installation?
     
  3. TheMafioso

    TheMafioso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    Updates works but i've to try 1-50 times for get updates working...

    It always say eset is up to date... and with a lot of attempts, it finally works...
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    Could you please PM me your username? The updates for v3 have been downloaded at the first attempt the last 5-6 days. I've made a test with v2 updating several times in a row and the commercial version 2 has always updated at the first attempt.
     
  5. cinek

    cinek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Posts:
    20
    nop, didn't change anything.....
     
  6. fan

    fan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Posts:
    11
    Hey my update is Stuck at 3317 and its really getting annoying.
    I bought this to protect myself from viruses etc and now im not getting the updates to protect myself from the internet :thumbd:

    Tried to update manually - did NOT work
    Double checked my Username + Password - The details worked but the update did NOT work
    I didnt change anything at the setup or anything else - so that is NOT the problem.

    Anyone knows how to fix it, btw if you say delete cache or something name the place where it is
    eg: C:\Program Files\ESET\ESET Smart Security

    Thanks!
     
  7. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,751
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Browser Cache. http://kb.iu.edu/data/ahic.html
     
  8. fan

    fan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Posts:
    11
    Ooh i thought deleting cache of the program or something.
    Anyway i delete my cache daily so did i again and didnt work like i excepted.
    It's 1am GMT+2 now, will check other replies in the morning ;)

    ~ its still stuck at v3317~
     
  9. xp_1839

    xp_1839 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Posts:
    67
    This workaround works for me, thank to bdrdc. :thumb:

     
  10. rwt325

    rwt325 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Posts:
    101
    Location:
    Strasburg VA
    Happy to say my ESS was updating automatically for the last few days - according to the Events log. As of 8:26 PM EST I am up to update 3326.
     
  11. fan

    fan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Posts:
    11
    After clicking 100 times Update it worked, and im not kidding it was around the 100 clicks. Its been updated to 3327 now. So Auto update is not working at the moment for some reason.
     
  12. diffy

    diffy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Posts:
    31
    Location:
    LI, NY, USA
    Start ESET Smart Security
    F5 for setup
    scroll to, click UPDATE
    Click the CLEAR button
     
  13. cariad

    cariad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    cardiff
    that didn't work for me and now the eset icon in the notification area is orange and the window security alert icon is showing. every time i try to update it just keeps saying invalid username and/or password been doing this for 2 days now the virus signature database is 3321 (20080803).by the date of the first post this has been going on for a week, when is it going to be sorted?:mad: :mad: :mad:
     
  14. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    There must be a problem with your license. Please export the configuration and send it to my email address (I'll provide it to you in a PM).
     
  15. fan

    fan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Posts:
    11
    Now im stuck at 3327, im not gotta click it 100 times again.
    Username + Password is correct. Im sure its not just me cuz more of the members have this problem. Hope this will get fixed VERY SOON.

    Edit:

    Deleted:
    Code:
    C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\ESET\ESET Smart Security\updfiles ,OK!
    But didnt work.
     
  16. xp_1839

    xp_1839 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Posts:
    67
    I have been using NOD32/ESS for a couple of years and one of the persisting issue is getting update! Eset need to resolve the update issue before losing long term clients! No point telling users because of the large users base of version 2 causing update issue. After all, which security vendors do not have to cope with old/new clients base?

    :thumbd: :thumbd: :thumbd:
     
  17. cariad

    cariad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    cardiff
    I've been using eset now for 2-3 years and this is the first problem i've ever had, hope it gets sorted quickly though. beginning to worry now. three days without an update! :doubt:
     
  18. fan

    fan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Posts:
    11
    Stuck at update 3329, i will buy kaspersky in the future this is going **** now.
     
  19. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    Hi fan,
    I sent you a PM yesteray, asking you for exporting your configuration and conveying it to me, but haven't received a reply from you yet. I'm not sure if you are able to receive PMs or not so would you please confirm?
     
  20. cariad

    cariad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    cardiff
    working again :D :D :D :D
     
  21. fan

    fan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Posts:
    11
    I didn't have any pm's received, but im not making time to fix this. This must be fixed by ESET self. I bought this for making my protected, but im done with it. it still doesnt work and im not going to make time to fix it. I appreciate the support but sorry. I reinstalled the software but have still the same problem. Gotta try to install the newest version .669 and will let you guys know if it worked.
     
  22. hiayushman

    hiayushman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    :cool: :cool: :cool:

    After going through the forum and few suggestions from the members, i am able to update my ESS with 3340 from 3230. Had to attempt manually for a few times though, but went smoothly after that.

    Thanks guys!

    BTW, Have got .699 installed.
     
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2008
  23. fan

    fan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Posts:
    11
    .669 installed and worked fine but my cpu was always at 100%.
    I waited for 1 hour didnt work, i rebooted didnt work. I uninstalled and installed the old version again .667 and now its working again. Weird but ill wait for a newer version.

    btw im now at 3341 ;)
     
  24. astroth

    astroth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    Well currently testing this out on a spare system and since the 30 of July its not been able to get an update. I even found some older versions to test same problem.

    Now at the moment I would not recommend trying this program since it doesn't update like it should according to the product information.

    Now I understand that there seemed to be a issue for a day or so that was the result of a huge update being pushed to older version users. However like others have said I don't have the time to sit here and keep trying to get it to update.

    The update issue is present in both .669 and .650 on both XP Pro SP3 and Vista Ultimate SP1. Again since I'm using a trial version I don't have much of a complaint as I not spent any money on the product and at the moment I'm not planning to, at least until there is a better reason that it doesn't update automaticly nor manually
     
  25. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    I will send you a PM. The trial version for v3 is equal to the full version, the only difference is that it has a temporary username/password embedded. If you are having issues, it must be caused by something else. I've run into cases where, for instance, people were blaming our update servers for the inability to update, but eventually it turned out that their license expired or were using cracks which changed the update servers. I'm not implying that you're using cracks, not at all, just trying to say that there are most likely other reasons why the update doesn't work for you. We don't see any problems on our servers in terms of updating v3 users either.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.