Update inconsistency similar to last month

Discussion in 'Trojan Defence Suite' started by bluekey23, Aug 16, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bluekey23

    bluekey23 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Posts:
    77
    Hello TDS users,
    After updating today I saw only 31604 references, whereas after last Friday's update I had 36775 references. My updates are from toonbox. Did anyone else experience this? Is this a corrupt file I downloaded?
    Thanks
     
  2. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    I just updated and the current set shows [36823 references - 14749 primaries/10200 traces/11874 variants/other].

    Blue
     
  3. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    Hi,

    Please have a look at this site:

    http://tds.diamondcs.com.au/index.php?page=update

    Maybe you need to download a new file update.cfg or change the order in which the servers are listed there.
    You can always download the latest defs manually.

    Quote:

    Important: The Automatic Update program (update.exe) requires an up-to-date server list (update.cfg) in order to download the database. This file can be downloaded here (Right-click | Save Target As...). Please save the file to your TDS directory, overwriting the existing update.cfg file. Remember to ensure that the filename is update.cfg, and not update.cfg.txt or anything else.
    - end quote -
     
  4. Tassie_Devils

    Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    State Queensland, Australia
    Hi bluekey23 :)

    Just to confirm, I just updated and got same as BlueZannetti's #'s.

    Keep us posted to see if resolved via FanJ's suggestion. ;)

    Cheers, TAS
     
  5. bluekey23

    bluekey23 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Posts:
    77
    Thanks for the helpful suggestions. I downloaded manually to get correct update. Checked the update.cfg at dcs(thanks FanJ) and mine is the same. Will keep an eye on this.
     
  6. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Hi Bluekey, Sometimes it is your ISP's transparent cache servers that can cause this problem, though this is a rare happening, usually following Fanj's solution works.

    Pilli
     
  7. bluekey23

    bluekey23 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Posts:
    77
    Pilli,
    Always willing to learn. What is the ISP transparent cache server and how would it cause the update problem?
     
  8. dvk01

    dvk01 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Posts:
    3,131
    Location:
    Loughton, Essex. UK
    Many ISP maintain an inline cache server to cut down on bandwith costs

    This server is what is called transparant as it checks every request for a file or page and if it's in it's memory serves you that file from it's memory rather than going across the net to collect a new copy

    Several of theses cache servers don't update as frequently as they should and maintain old stale files that are out of date and send the old file to you when you wanty a newer one

    the transparant part comes in that it doesn't appear in your IE settings and there is no way to configure IE or any browser to bypass it except instruct your browser to use an explict named proxy server using a diffferent port in the hope that it will bypass the inline transparant one


    I suffer trerribly from this problem with my ISP & frequently have to use several different named proxies to download updated files
     
  9. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Derek, Sounds like you also use NTHell :D

    Pilli
     
  10. Wayne - DiamondCS

    Wayne - DiamondCS Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Posts:
    1,533
    Location:
    Perth, Oz
    Shouldn't be any problems - every Radius database upload on every server is downloaded and integrity-tested before it's made available to the public
     
  11. dvk01

    dvk01 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Posts:
    3,131
    Location:
    Loughton, Essex. UK
    Unfortunately YES

    When it works it's great but when it goes wrong as it keeps doing it is absolutely HELL

    But let's keep on topic and hope we don't get " moderated"
     
  12. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Agreed, As Wayne has stated that download servers are all verified now on each update. We must assume, therefore, that it is an ISP problem, possibly the transparent Cache servers.

    Pilli
     
  13. bluekey23

    bluekey23 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Posts:
    77
    Just wanted to let everyone know that TDS updater on my system is back to normal. I think Dvk was probably right.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.