Update for Norton Internet Security & Firefox 3.5

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by ronjor, Jul 21, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,770
    Location:
    Texas
    Brian Krebs
     
  2. Michael York

    Michael York Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    56
  3. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    I have run this and Norton toolbar is working fine here but the parental control is not working.
    i have a second question.
    I am running a Norton 360 v3 and it has more than 312 days is it possible to convert it to a NIS licence if yes can u help me do that?
    Thanks in advance
     
  4. LagerX

    LagerX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Posts:
    540
    You could try to ask it at Online Chat
    http://www.symantec.com/norton/support/contact/contact.jsp?pvid=cs
     
  5. Michael York

    Michael York Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    56

    Hi gery,

    In response to your first question about the Parental Controls feature not working, can you please explain to me what aspect of this feature is not working for you. Also, when did the problem start occurring?

    Make sure that you have the latest version of Norton 360 version 3 installed, which is version "3.0.0.135". You can check the version by opening Norton 360, select "Help & Support" and then choose "About." If your version is lower, then mouse-over the "PC Security" bubble and choose "Check for Updates." If any updates are installed, restart your computer.

    You cannot convert a Norton 360 license to a Norton Internet Security license, as they are two separate products.

    Thank you,
    Mike
     
  6. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    This problem came up since i updated the Mozilla firefox 3.5 . parental control does not block the sites it should. When i tried it with IE no problems. So this is only for firefox. yes i have it updated and everything else is fine here
     
  7. Michael York

    Michael York Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    56

    Hi gery,

    Please apply the hot fix for Norton Internet Security from the link I posted in post # 2.

    Let me know if this resolves the issue you are having.

    Thanks,
    Mike
     
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2009
  8. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    nope it is still not working even after the hotfix and i need that very much for my home computer
     
  9. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    checked again and it doesn't work:thumbd: :thumbd: :thumbd:
     
  10. Phenom

    Phenom Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Posts:
    61
    Location:
    United States
    Any idea when it will be available through LiveUpdate?
     
  11. Michael York

    Michael York Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    56

    Hi gery,

    It appears that there may be a problem with your installation of Norton Internet Security that is causing the problem with the Parental Control feature. Please carefully follow the steps below to resolve the issue.

    1. Make note of your Activation Key.

    2. Click on the following link to download the Norton Removal Tool:

    Norton Removal Tool and Instructions

    2. After you run the tool, please restart your computer. Then log in to Windows again and run the removal tool again. Restart your computer after it is finished running the second time as well.

    3. Click on the link below and then select the "Download" button under "Norton Internet Security" to download the latest installer.

    Download the latest installer for Norton Internet Security

    4. When prompted during the installation, enter the Activation Key you saved in step # 1.

    5. When the installation is complete, launch Norton Internet Security 2009, click on the "Settings" link next to Computer and then click on the "Parental & Privacy Controls" category and re-download the Add-on Pack.

    6. Select "Run LiveUpdate" to ensure you have the latest patches and definition files applied. If any updates are installed, restart your computer and then manually run LiveUpdate again.

    7. Click on the link below and re-apply the hot fix for Firefox 3.5.1 compatibility.

    Fix for Norton Internet Security and Firefox 3.5.1

    8. Finally, configure the Parental Controls and then test with Firefox 3.5.1.

    Please let me know if this resolves the issue.

    Thank you,
    Mike
     
  12. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    I have Norton 360
    Sorry for being so late but i have been out for e few weeks now i am back
     
  13. Michael York

    Michael York Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    56
    Hi gery,

    Are you using Windows XP or Windows Vista? Please let me know.

    The process I outlined in post # 11 still applies to your situation. In step number 3, just click on the link I provided and instead of clicking on the "Download" button under Norton Internet Security, click on the "Download" button under Norton 360 to download the latest installer.

    After you reinstall Norton 360, mouse-over the "PC Security" bubble and choose "Check for Updates". If any updates are installed, restart your computer.

    Next, open Norton 360 version 3, click on the "Tasks" link at the top of the window and then choose "Install Norton Add-on Pack. Configure the Parental Controls feature and then test with Firefox 3.5.1 and let me know if it is working properly for you.

    Thanks,
    Mike
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2009
  14. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    i am updating the parental control now and meanwhile it is not blocking the bad sites such as porn etc:argh:
    the rest is fully updated
    i did as you told me
    i have XP 32 bit
     
  15. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    Mike now it is working
    thanks a lot for your brief response and for solving the problem.
    have s very good week man
    All my Respect man
    Gery
     
  16. Michael York

    Michael York Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    56

    Hi Gery,

    That's great news that it is now working. I'm glad I could help you out.

    Take care,
    Mike
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.