Upcoming Update to Windows Update

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by NICK ADSL UK, Jul 3, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. NICK ADSL UK

    NICK ADSL UK Administrator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,218
    Location:
    UK
    Upcoming Update to Windows Update
    Hi everyone,
    I'd like to let you know that, beginning at the end of this month and continuing over the next few months, we’ll be rolling out an infrastructure update to the Windows Update agent (client). I wanted to take this opportunity to provide some background on the update and discuss the value these updates bring to you.

    Continued at source with screen shots
    http://blogs.technet.com/mu/archive/2008/07/03/upcoming-update-to-windows-update.aspx
     
  2. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    Hi nick,what windows versions does this affect?
    windows xp, vista and server 2003 and 2008?
    or anymore than that?
    may bit a bit related.
    every since i installed service pack 1 on vista when i click on the option to update more products option it loads the windows xp version of the update other products rather than the vista on. see screenshot with arrow.
    anyone else experienceing this?
    if mods feel its off topic feel free to move it in to a separate topic.
     

    Attached Files:

    • this.JPG
      this.JPG
      File size:
      68.8 KB
      Views:
      175
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2008
  3. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    lodore, that has been around for a while. I had it installed when I was using XP. Microsoft update checks for not only Windows OS updates but also other products such as Office as well which is convenient as you don't have to do separate checks anymore.
     
  4. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    Hey, i know its been around for a while. its just since service pack 1 on vista it no longer works. it used to work. but now it loads the xp version instead of the vista version.
     
  5. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    Oh, sorry, I misread your post :oops: I don't know why yours don't unless it is some registry screwup or something. Mine works ok at home.
     
  6. NICK ADSL UK

    NICK ADSL UK Administrator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,218
    Location:
    UK
  7. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Lodore - its not loading the XP version, its just a page to install Microsoft Update. After it installs, the regular Vista Windows Update will come back.

    BTW after installing, the only new update (for me) is Silverlight.
     
  8. NICK ADSL UK

    NICK ADSL UK Administrator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,218
    Location:
    UK
    APPLIES TO
    • Windows Vista Business
    • Windows Vista Enterprise
    • Windows Vista Home Basic
    • Windows Vista Home Premium
    • Windows Vista Starter
    • Windows Vista Ultimate
    • Windows Vista Enterprise 64-bit Edition
    • Windows Vista Home Basic 64-bit Edition
    • Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit Edition
    • Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit Edition
    • Windows Vista Business 64-bit Edition
    • Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Standard Edition (32-bit x86)
    • Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Enterprise Edition (32-bit x86)
    • Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Datacenter Edition (32-bit x86)
    • Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Web Edition
    • Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Datacenter x64 Edition
    • Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Enterprise x64 Edition
    • Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Standard x64 Edition
    • Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Datacenter Edition for Itanium-Based Systems
    • Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Enterprise Edition for Itanium-based Systems
    • Microsoft Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
    • Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
    • Microsoft Windows XP Professional
    • Microsoft Windows 2000 Advanced Server SP4
    • Microsoft Windows 2000 Datacenter Server
    • Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional Edition
    • Microsoft Windows 2000 Service Pack 4
    • Microsoft Baseline Security Analyzer 2.0
    • Microsoft Baseline Security Analyzer 2.1
    • Microsoft Systems Management Server 2.0 Standard Edition
    • Microsoft Systems Management Server 2003
    • Microsoft System Center Operations Manager 2007
    • Windows Server Update Services 2.0
    • Windows Server Update Services 3.0
     
  9. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    Hello again,
    see errorr message. notice the top bar V6 microsoft update.
    second screenshot shows the first window to appear when i press the button shown earlier. definatrly looks like its trying to load the xp version of microsoft update to me.
    i got a completely different website when it worked before serrvice pack 1.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Strange. Mine went to a different page:
    Code:
    http://www.update.microsoft.com/microsoftupdate/v6/vistadefault.aspx
    In fact, try if that url works for you.
     
  11. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    hey, ye it is strange.
    i tryed that link and when i pressed enter it changed the address and loaded the page shown in the screenshot.
     
  12. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    When I tried that link I got this, probably because I already have MS Update installed.
     

    Attached Files:

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.