UNsecure Zone...

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by bobthedog, Jul 25, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bobthedog

    bobthedog Guest

    Having installed ATI and created an image on DVD+RW
    several days ago, I decided to create a "Secure Zone"
    on my nearly empty 120gig hard drive before installing
    some new software.

    I started up ATI, entered the "Secure Zone" management,
    and selected an 8 GB partition to be created. After this
    operation had concluded, I pressed the Reboot Button and
    watched in horror as my system first POSTed, then went
    directly to a Blank Screen with flashing cursor in the upper
    left hand corner...

    After several reboot-attempts, I set my BIOS to boot from
    my CD/DVR and booted from the Win98SE(final) installation
    CD and found that Drive C: had been totally obliterated: no
    valid drive, etc., etc. just as in This Thread

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=69483&highlight=flashing cursor

    (and many others) here in this forum.

    I used the Acronis Boot-CD to restore my image from DVD+RW,
    and now must reinstall a few pieces of software I had installed
    since first creating the image.

    It's quite apparent that the "Secure Zone" is, for many users,
    a very UNsecure Zone and should be avoided like the hazard
    it truly is. C'mon guys: this is shoddy design and development;
    you can do better than this!
     
  2. jhudson

    jhudson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    I've never had the problems you have had, the secrue zone has always worked great for me. I wonder what went wrong in your case.
     
  3. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Generally it's not the Secure Zone that causes problems, rather it's accepting the default selection to "Active Acronis Startup Recovery Manager". Doing so modifies the MBR, and that isn't always a good idea!!

    Regards
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello bobthedog,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are really sorry for the inconveniences.

    Could you please create Acronis Report in the way described at Acronis Help Post and send it support@acronis.com along with the link to this thread indicating in the subject of the letter that you want to contact Ilya Toytman. Please inform me in the letter if you changed your partition layout after the problem (created, resized or deleted any partitions). Also please do the following:

    - Open Start\Programs\Accessories\System Tools\System Information;
    - Choose the "Save" option in the "File" menu (or "Action" menu under Windows 2000), enter the "File name" and set the field "Save as type" to "Version 5.0/6.0 System Information File (*.NFO)";
    - Send the saved file to us as well.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Menorcaman,

    I am afraid the problem discussed here has nothing to do with Acronis Startup Recovery Manager. There is a problem with partition table change and we need some information to find out the exact reason for it.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  6. drac

    drac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Posts:
    23
    These problems appear similar to mine in my post of today (7/25/2005). TI is indeed changing the MBR partition table. It is doing something that is ILLEGAL in terms of at least PartitionMagic. The computer STILL WORKS but there are overlapping partitions. I think the issue is that the change is done in Linux and what may be OK there is NOT OK in Windows. I have looked at the partition table after TI is done with it and it starts partitions at 2ctor 6 instead of sector 1 - which is a no-no. This should be and EASY and OBVIOUS issue for the software team to address.
     
  7. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello Ilya,

    I understand that. I was just making a point in response to bobthedog's general statement regarding the Secure Zone:
    Apologies for any confusion I may have caused.

    Kind regards
    Tom
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2005
  8. bobthedog

    bobthedog Guest

    Get a Dog!
     
  9. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Oops! I must have been confusing you with a Boy Scout (Bob a Job Week) :D . Post has been edited accordingly.

    Regards
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.