Unprotected Hour... Am I OK?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Hangetsu, May 7, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hangetsu

    Hangetsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    259
    I posted this question on the Kaspersky forums as well, but given the question is generic, I'm hoping the experts here can chime in as well!!

    I recently uninstalled Norton 360 due to issues with ccApp taking upwards of a GB of RAM on the PC when playing online games. Tech Support was practically useless (I stopped trying when they started going over the re-install procedures). So, as I have a license for KIS, I decided to give it a try on Vista - While its "Vista Compatible", I don't think it has Microsoft's certification yet, which is why I switched.

    After uninstalling Norton 360 using the Norton Uninstall Utility and rebooting, I tried installing KIS 6 (621 release) several times. Following the screens (install location, Complete install, etc.), I would get to the installation part itself where two pop-up errors would appear that simply contained "Installation failed."). The funny part is, clicking OK on these windows would allow KIS to continue through.

    After reboot, KIS appears to be functioning normally - getting updates, scanning, all services working, etc. - But two things concern me: First, the errors themselves (i.e. is something on my computer blocking KIS' install), and second the hour my PC didnt have security software.

    I did a little research on my PC, and I'm showing Norton 360 in the "installed AV" and "installed firewall" listings of Security Center. I have instructions on removing several registry entries that may be sitting out there still.

    Granted, I'm behind a NAT firewall router, Vista is fully patched, KIS' full scan detected nothing, and during the time w/o software I wrote to you on a different PC (so I wasn't surfing the web unprotected).

    These may be anal-retentive questions (particularly since I'm very safe with surfing, have no real 3rd party / shareware / etc apps installed, etc.), but thought it worth seeing if anyone else would be concerned.

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum
    As for 360 showing up in the Security Center, check this thread and all the links in it. Linky
     
  3. Engelhardt

    Engelhardt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Posts:
    38
    Location:
    Georgia
    Running KIS v7 beta on both of my Vista business edition machines and on one I get the dual Installation failed boxes. I have on 4 different installs now. The other machine no error. Don't know what it is because everthing checks out fine. Just thought I would mention your not alone on the error deal.
     
  4. Long View

    Long View Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    2,295
    Location:
    Cromwell Country
    Run security software if it makes you feel better BUT I would argue that with a NAT Firewall router and some common sense you could surfer for years without needing anti-virus programs. Don't worry.
     
  5. Hangetsu

    Hangetsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    259
    Now THAT makes me feel better, thanks Engelhardt! The KIS folks on their forums have been very helpful as well as those here (as usual).
     
  6. CJsDad

    CJsDad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Posts:
    618
    I had the same thing happen to me installing Avira on a Vista machine.
    Two error messgaes pop up simultaneously and when I o.k. each message the installation completes, then I'm asked to reboot, after a reboot I update the AV and everything works as if nothing happend.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.