University network

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by hirudoid2, Nov 19, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hirudoid2

    hirudoid2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Posts:
    19
    I have a problem with ESS. I can't access my network disks and cannot print using the network printer.
    I chose the alternative in ESS which allows you to access these things, but still nothing happens.

    Hirudodi
     
  2. hirudoid2

    hirudoid2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Posts:
    19
    I switched back to Nod32 3.0 and Online Armour and hoping this will be solved.
    I feel :'( o_O
     
  3. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Have you marked your peers as trusted (in the trusted zone) . Is your ESS working in Allow sharing more for your local network computers ?

    Is "file and printer sharing allowed" in the IDS setup ?

    Have you checked the other computer / network printer ? Many variables


    I'd recommend that you try this:



    Enter the Advanced Setup Tree (F5)

    1. Navigate to Personal Firewall.
    Choose Interactive Mode

    2. Navigate to Personal Firewall -> Rules and zones . In the right (at the Trusted zone part) , click Setup and choose "Allow sharing"

    3. Navigate to Personal Firewall -> IDS and Advanced options
    Make sure all services are allowed (a.k.a 4 services)

    4. In Personal firewall -> IDS and advanced options , enabled logging


    Then,
    Open Personal firewall > Rules and zones > Zone and rule setup
    Choose Toggle detailed view of all riles (if already not set to this)
    Uncheck every rule that has in the name Block or NetBIOS.

    Confirm with OK.

    Start creating new rule:


    Name : your choice
    Direction : Both
    Action : Allow
    Protocol : TCP & UDP

    Additional action:
    check Log


    In Local tab - For every (ports)
    In Remote choose - For every (ports)
    Then (AFAI remember , you should enter the IP address in the Remote tab . So here enter the IP of the network machine/with printer - example 192.168.16.1) .

    If you don't want any traffic from the machine , ports you must create rules for are TCP 139 , 445 / UDP 137 , 138 (they are for file and printer sharing)

    Confirm with OK and restart.Try again :thumb:
     
  4. hirudoid2

    hirudoid2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Posts:
    19
    Thank you HITech_boy for the detailed help. I will try that.

    Hirudoid
     
  5. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    You are welcome!

    Please , let us know the result
     
  6. hirudoid2

    hirudoid2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Posts:
    19
    Hello HiTech_boy,
    I did uncheked things from my Trusted Zone as you suggested, and allowed sharing in the Trusted Zone. Now everything works fine. I use IMAP and Thunderbird did not function, but after the changes Thunderbird works fine also.

    I am HAPPY:D :D

    Hirudoid
     
  7. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    You are welcome :thumb:
     
  8. hirudoid2

    hirudoid2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Posts:
    19
    Hello HiTech_boy,
    By these changes have I lost any of the security ESS offers?
    o_O o_O
    Hirudoid
     
  9. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Hopefully you have entered the IP address , if so - no :)
     
  10. hirudoid2

    hirudoid2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Posts:
    19
    Where should I enter that IP-address? What IP-address?

    o_O
    Hirudoid
     
  11. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Post #3 at the bottom
     

    Attached Files:

  12. pain4gain

    pain4gain Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Posts:
    54
    quick question...


    #1 In Local tab - For every (ports)
    Which ports do you put? Or do you put a range?

    #2 In Remote choose - For every (ports)
    Same question as #1

    Thank you!!!!!!!!
     
  13. Farmand

    Farmand Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Posts:
    73
    Location:
    Denmark
    Hey HiTech_boy

    This might be a stupid question, but here it comes....

    Does this help with the problem, that alot of people is having, with accessing the "WORKGROUP" between 2 or more computers on a local network at home.??

    Thanks
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.