Universal Restore ... won't Workstation9

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by db2044, Aug 15, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. db2044

    db2044 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    Purpose: migration from old machine to new built box.
    XP Pro, Workstation9 and UR, most recent build.

    Frustrating couple days trying to get UR to work and migrate an existing OS to a new machine.

    Fully updated XP Pro is isolated by itself on E:\OS 10g partition on source machine. G:\Programs 40g partition holds all the installed programs. Existing OS is not a clean install and has been in use with G:\Programs.

    WS9 creates successful image of both E: and G: on source machine stored off to third network machine \Backups drive. Both will restore to target machine from network location. Note: fresh XP build on new machine also stored as E:\OS on network drive and restores fine.
    NOT currently possible to have new and source machine up at the same time as parts from old are being used in new.

    WS9 with UR boot media working fine, sees network fine, images and restores fine.

    UR option WILL NOT kick in when attempting to restore E:\OS (old machine) to (larger) 15g E:\OS partition on target (new) machine.
    UR hal rebuild is required as new machine has dissimilar hardware and will not boot (old) E:\OS
    HD sizes and configuration are not the same between the machines.

    I need the ability to get the UR option to kick in on the restore to the target machine to do the hal re-compile.
    New (target) machine will have the same partition and drive letter assignments as the old as the entire contents of the source machine are being transferred, ie: E:\OS and G:\Programs partitions will be the same as well as other partitions.
    E:\OS must be migrated for registry content to make G:\Programs work.

    Problem is how to force the UR option to be available.

    Suggestions please!
     
  2. db2044

    db2044 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    **bump**
     
  3. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello db2044,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Workstation Disk Backup Software.

    Please accept our apologies for the delay with the response.

    First of all, please make sure you use the latest build (3718 ) of Acronis True Image 9.1 Workstation. Please also download the latest build of Acronis Universal Restore which can be found in the "Registered Products" section of your account. To get access to updates you should first register your software.

    If the issue persists, please collect the information described in this previous post of mine and submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the issue appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.